13th House

McCoy Tyner

13th House
  • CAT # OJCCD-1089-25

    1. Short Suite 7:44
    2. 13th House 5:57
    3. Search For Peace 6:30
    4. Love Samba 8:35
    5. Leo Rising 9:12

In 13th House, McCoy Tyner edged close to writing for a full-scale big band. With 14 pieces, including nine horns, at his command, Tyner made orchestral use of the chord voicings with which he influenced a generation of jazz players. In addition to his harmonies writ large and his stunning piano work, this album incorporates Tyner's love for percussion and rhythm. It has the combined forces of Airto Moreira and Dom Um Romão, giants of Brazilian music, plus the formidable drumming of Jack DeJohnette and the powerful bass of Ron Carter. To a considerable extent, 13th House amounts to a report on the state of jazz in the early 1980s, with its post-Coltrane modalities, huge energies, and searching soloists. Besides Tyner's, there are inspired solos from nearly every member of the band, including two who are often overlooked, trumpeter Charles Sullivan and saxophonist Joe Ford.

with Oscar Brashear, Kamau Muata Adilifu (aka Charles Sullivan), Slide Hampton, Hubert Laws, Frank Foster, Joe Ford, Ricky Ford, Greg Williams, Bob Stewart, Ron Carter Jack DeJohnette, Airto, Dom Um Romão

Find out more about McCoy Tyner


This classic trio date captures three luminaries, including bass revolutionary Stanley Clarke and drummer Al Foster, playing eleven tracks of… More


Orrin’s commentary (from his new liner notes): “Although I had been very much impressed by his work with [John Coltrane], listening to… More
Telarc releases McCoy Tyner's finest moments from five stellar recordings. More
Remastered in 24-bit from the original master tapes. Part of our Keepnews Collection, which spotlights classic albums originally produced by the… More
Years before rock guitarists began playing what came to be called “power chords,” a young McCoy Tyner was providing them pianistically… More
McCoy Tyner gave an electrifying concert at the 1978 Live Under the Sky Festival in Tokyo. These recordings, from the same occasion that produced… More
2005 Grammy Award Winner for Best Jazz Instrumental Album, Individual or Group McCoy Tyner, one of the most revered jazz pianists of the past… More
Rhythmically complex and harmonically adventurous, McCoy Tyner's Land of Giants reflects the élan of four master musicians relentlessly… More
McCoy Tyner's adventurous solo tribute to great jazz pianists of the last century. More
with Ron Carter, Tony Williams Recorded at Denen Coliseum, Tokyo, Japan, July 28, 1978. (previously unreleased). More
A sophisticated and much anticipated Latin release from one of modern jazz's most respected and imitated pianists. More
At the time of these live performances (1974), when much of the jazz keyboard world had plugged in, at least part-time, McCoy Tyner's piano… More
This was Tyner's second Milestone album following the 1972 Sahara (which was a recording by his working quartet) and preceding many… More