The Riverside Records Story

Various Artists

The Riverside Records Story MP3
  • CAT # 4RCD-4422-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) 4:42
    2. Watermelon Man 2:25
    3. This Here 12:28
    4. Brilliant Corners 7:49
    5. Four On Six 6:19
    6. Waltz For Debby 7:00
    7. African Waltz 2:08
    8. Meditacao (Meditation) 3:09
    9. The Village Caller 4:24
    10. Blues For Dracula 8:11
    11. Wade In The Water 3:48
    12. Smooth As The Wind 5:15
    13. Big "P" 3:53
    DISC TWO  
    1. The Freedom Suite 19:24
    2. Cariba 9:40
    3. Tune Up (Take 4) 5:17
    4. Ruby, My Dear 5:25
    5. Ruby, My Dear 6:21
    6. 'Round Midnight 8:30
    7. One Foot In The Gutter 7:21
    8. Peace Piece 6:37
    9. Know What I Mean? (Re-Take 7) 4:54
    1. Things Are Getting Better 7:14
    2. Delilah (Take 4) 6:14
    3. Trav'lin' Light 6:11
    4. Tickle Toe 5:30
    5. Work Song 4:12
    6. If You Could See Me Now 5:19
    7. One By One 6:17
    8. On A Misty Night 2:52
    9. My Old Flame 5:25
    10. Come Rain Or Come Shine 4:05
    11. Circle Waltz 5:57
    12. Out Of The Past 4:41
    13. Mutattra 3:14
    14. Laura 4:35
    1. Autumn Leaves 6:23
    2. Eyes So Beautiful As Yours 6:29
    3. Invitation 3:53
    4. Letter From Home 2:59
    5. Blue Lou 5:11
    6. Some Kinda Mean 5:49
    7. On Green Dolphin Street 6:00
    8. West Coast Blues 6:01
    9. I'm Just A Lucky So And So 5:57
    10. I Am In Love 2:51
    11. Invitation 3:53
    12. Out Of This World 4:48
    13. Nardis 5:30
    14. Fools Rush In (Where Angels Fear To Tread) 4:28
    15. Come Sunday 3:34
    16. So Tired 6:17
    17. Zulu 3:26

The story of East Coast jazz in the post-war era very largely revolves around three legendary New York based independents: Prestige, Blue Note, and Riverside. This four-CD set traces the history of the one that, in the words of Orrin Keepnews, was the feisty kid brother in that jazz family--Riverside Records, the last to start and the first to stop, but in some ways the most aggressive of the trio, a company that in barely a decade of activity (1952-1964) initiated and developed the careers of a remarkably broad range of significant major artists.

This collection of Riverside highlights is very much a tale from the inside, having been compiled and annotated by Keepnews, the veteran producer, historian, and record executive whose extensive career began as co-founder and creative head of the label. Opening with a track from the initial album by the company's first and most celebrated star, Thelonious Monk, the producer touches on the music of 43 of Riverside's most memorable performers, drawn from a roster of more than a hundred and fifty leaders.

The list boasts such cornerstones of modern jazz as Bill Evans and Wes Montgomery (both of whom made their first LPs for Riverside), Cannonball and Nat Adderley, Sonny Rollins, Milt Jackson, Gerry Mulligan, Art Blakey, Clark Terry, Jimmy Heath, Johnny Griffin, Philly Joe Jones, Wynton Kelly, and Kenny Dorham, but also touches on previous jazz forms with late efforts by giants like Coleman Hawkins and Ben Webster. Although primarily focused on instrumentalists, it also includes such notable jazz vocalists as Mark Murphy, Abbey Lincoln, and Eddie Jefferson.

Find out more about Various Artists


Various Artists

Christmas In Soulsville

Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.

Various Artists

Take Me To The River

Stax Records/Concord Music Group is proud to announce the release of Take Me To the River: Music From The Motion Picture. The companion… More

Various Artists

Sweetheart 2014

Just in time for Valentine's Day comes Sweetheart 2014, a collection of indelible, handpicked covers from a remarkable group of modern… More

Various Artists

A Slow Jams Jazz Christmas

From the original producers of the Slow Jams series comes a traditional take on the romance and splendor of the holiday season… More
Settle around the fireplace this holiday season with Mad Men Christmas: Music from and Inspired by the Hit TV Series on AMC. Produced by… More
The twists and turns of the American political system have long been turned into storied tales of deception, turmoil and mystery chronicling the… More
Star-Studded Cast Includes Elvis Costello, Sheryl Crow, Rosanne Cash, Neko Case, Kris Kristofferson, Dave & Phil Alvin, Taj Mahal, Ryan Bingham… More
Beginning today, the all-star recording of Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hear Music/Concord Music Group), the highly anticipated… More

Various Artists

True Blues

Guy Davis, Shemekia Copeland, Corey Harris, Alvin Youngblood Hart, and Taj Mahal join forces for True Blues, a collaboration of the best blues… More
Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac is a striking 17-track collection of Fleetwood Mac covers from a diverse band of… More
Concord Records will release Smooth Jazz Hits: Ultimate Grooves, the latest installment in the series of smooth jazz… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.