Albeniz Iberia Complete
  • CAT # 80470-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Albeniz: Iberia: Book I: Evocacion 5:25
    2. Albeniz: Iberia: Book I: El Puerto 4:36
    3. Albeniz: Iberia: Book I: El Corpus en Sevilla (Fete-Dieu a Seville) 8:27
    4. Albeniz: Iberia: Book II: Rondena 7:25
    5. Albeniz: Iberia: Book II: Almeria 9:21
    6. Albeniz: Iberia: Book II: Triana 5:02
    DISC TWO  
    1. Albeniz: Iberia: Book III: El Albaicin 8:17
    2. Albeniz: Iberia: Book III: El Polo 6:55
    3. Albeniz: Iberia: Book III: Lavapies 6:46
    4. Albeniz: Iberia: Book IV: Malaga 5:48
    5. Albeniz: Iberia: Book IV: Jerez 9:03
    6. Albeniz: Iberia: Book IV: Eritana 4:54

Jesús López-Cobos, now in his eleventh season as Music Director of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, has recently become appointed as the Permanent Conductor of the Orchestre Francais de Jeunes in Paris, which was established in 1982 by the French Minister of Culture to promote the integration of young instrumentalists with professional musicians. Beginning this summer, López-Cobos will conduct the orchestra in public concert performances and participate in their training program.

Acclaimed for their recent Telarc recordings Into the Light: Symphonic Expressions of the Spirit (CD-80462) and the Mahler 9th Symphony (CD-80426), López-Cobos and the CSO will return to the music of Mahler for their next recording: the Symphony No. 3, scheduled to be released next November.

The current release, the complete Iberia arranged for orchestra, has previously only been available on vinyl. Albéniz originally composed the work, a suite in four books of three pieces each, for piano solo. It is heard here with orchestrations by Enrique Fernández Arbós (1863-1939) and the late Carlos Surinach (1915-1997).

Telarc will offer the set at two-for-one pricing.

Find out more about Jesus Lopez-Cobos & Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra


For his final Telarc recordings as Music Director of the Cincinnati Symphony, Jesus Lopez-Cobos turns to the music of his Spanish heritage, in… More
Jesus Lopez-Cobos makes his penultimate recording for Telarc as Music Director of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, performing the first and last… More
The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and Jesus Lopez-Cobos tap into romance that features Rachmaninoff's most beautiful and extremely popular… More
Telarc presents the world premiere recording of Mazzetti's revised performing edition of Mahler's 10th Symphony, in a profoundly moving… More
Jesus Lopez-Cobos has made three highly acclaimed recordings of the music of Respighi for Telarc. Now in spectacular Direct Stream Digital sound… More
Dukas' "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" has become immortalized for listeners both young and old by Walt Disney's animated classic film, Fantasia. More
Following his acclaimed Telarc recording of Mahler's "Ninth Symphony" (CD-80426), which Stereophile proclaimed: "stands tall among the very… More
The young American composer Steve Rouse, currently on the faculty of the University of Louisville, wrote Into the Light as he was grappling… More
Mahler's emotionally sweeping Ninth Symphony was one of his final three works, and has come to be irrevocably associated with the idea of a… More
The Rossini-Respighi ballet La Boutique La Boutique Fantastique(The Fantastic Toyshop)was done at the behest of the Ballets Russes impresario… More
Praised for his compelling interpretation of Brazilian music, Lopez-Cobos leads the Cincinnati Symphony in Villa-Lobos' most evocative, lush and… More
Der Rosenkavalier brims with ultra-Romantic melodies and sophisticated chromatic harmonies bound together by rich orchestral colors. It is… More