Alone With My Friends

Memphis Slim

Alone With My Friends
  • CAT # OBCCD-581-25

    1. Highway 51 Blues 4:15
    2. I Feel So Good 2:45
    3. Rock Me, Momma 3:50
    4. Goin' Down Slow 3:50
    5. Sittin' On Top Of The World 3:26
    6. Sunnyland Train 3:55
    7. Goin' Down To The River 3:00
    8. I Just Want To Make Love To You 5:42
    9. I Can Hear My Name A-Ringin' 4:00
    10. Going Back To My Plow 4:45

After over two decades as one of the kingpins of Chicago blues, Peter “Memphis Slim” Chatman (1915-1988) relocated to Paris in 1961. The great singer-pianist returned home on occasion, but spent most of his later career touring throughout Europe. Performing songs by many of his musical associates back home, as well as his own outstanding compositions, he titled his concerts “The Story of the Blues,” of which this rare early-Sixties London recording affords a fascinating, heartfelt slice. Prior to Slim’s death, the U.S. Senate honored him with the title of Ambassador-at-Large of Good Will.

Find out more about Memphis Slim


Piano pumper Memphis Slim (1915-1988) and bass thumper Willie Dixon (1915-92) were kindred spirits. Both men were commanding vocalists and… More


with "Harpie" Brown, Lafayette Thomas, Wendell Marshall Recorded April and November, 1960. More