Andre Previn Plays Songs By Harold Arlen

Andre Previn

Andre Previn Plays Songs By Harold Arlen
  • CAT # OJCCD-1840-25

    1. That Old Black Magic 4:34
    2. Come Rain Or Come Shine 4:36
    3. My Shining Hour 3:40
    4. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe 4:30
    5. A Sleepin' Bee 3:47
    6. Stormy Weather 4:58
    7. Over The Rainbow 4:22
    8. Let's Fall In Love 4:50
    9. For Every Man There's A Woman 5:25
    10. Cocoanut Sweet 3:40

André Previn turned in his most intensely personal jazz performances on the solo songbook albums he recorded for Contemporary Records. One key to the series’ success was the pianist’s choice of subjects. On this third volume, he explores the music of Harold Arlen, the most blues-based of the great popular tunesmiths; but Previn does not settle for merely bringing out the obvious facets of these great songs. His spontaneous interpretations introduce layers of color and detail, extending and expanding the material in improvisations that are deeply felt and rich in surprising ideas. The ten tracks here manage to present pure Previn while retaining the distinctive Arlen magic.

Find out more about Andre Previn