Another Monday Date

Earl "Fatha" Hines

Another Monday Date MP3
  • CAT # PRCD-24043-25

    1. Jitterbug Waltz 6:51
    2. Black And Blue 5:57
    3. Blue Turning Grey Over You 2:55
    4. Honeysuckle Rose 5:32
    5. Squeeze Me 8:26
    6. Ain't Misbehavin' 3:02
    7. Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now 3:52
    8. I Can't Give You Anything But Love 5:02
    9. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter 3:00
    10. Deep Forest 2:37
    11. Everything Depends On You 4:05
    12. Am I Too Late? 3:20
    13. Blues For Tatum 3:45
    14. In San Francisco 2:55
    15. Ann 4:02
    16. You Can Depend On Me 3:22
    17. When I Dream Of You 2:54
    18. R.R. Blues 4:03
    19. Straight To Love 3:43
    20. Piano Man 2:52
    21. My Monday Date 3:35

From the time he left the Louis Armstrong All-Stars in 1951 until his triumphant 1964 concert at New York’s Little Theater, Earl Hines was the forgotten giant of jazz piano. Much of this time was spent at San Francisco’s Hangover Club, where the great keyboard innovator worked in an inappropriate Dixieland context. His mammoth technique and unpredictable imagination never flagged, however, as the two albums he recorded for Fantasy during 1955-56 make clear. This compact disc, which includes the memorable Earl “Fatha” Hines Solo set in its entirety, finds the pianist ruminating over originals, many of which he made famous in the Twenties and Thirties, as well as surveying the music of his friend Fats Waller in a most sympathetic quartet setting.

with Eddie Duran, Dean Reilly, Earl Watkins

Find out more about Earl "Fatha" Hines