Arvo Part: Fratres

Rudolf Werthen & I Fiamminghi

Arvo Part Fratres
  • CAT # 80387-25

    1. Part: Fratres for strings and percussion 10:18
    2. Part: Fratres for violin, strings and percussion 12:00
    3. Part: Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten for strings and one bell 7:09
    4. Part: Fratres for wind octet and percussion 8:10
    5. Part: Fratres for eight cellos 9:48
    6. Part: Summa for Strings 4:18
    7. Part: Fratres for string quartet 9:58
    8. Part: Festina Lente for strings and harp ad libitum 6:41
    9. Part: Fratres for cello and piano 10:28

I Fiamminghi's vibrantly warm sound, the electrifying virtuosity of their playing and the expressive impact of their performances have excited critics and audiences alike.

Fratres is based on the repetitions of an austere, hymn-like theme played above a continuous drone on the interval of an open fifth. The dynamic peak is reached in the middle of the work, after which the music gradually diminishes to a silence. The piece ends in a hushed spirituality. Fratres, in its original version of eight variations, was composed in 1977 for string quartet and wind quintet. Telarc presents seven of the eight original variations for the first time.

Also included on the CD are three additional works by Pärt; Cantus in memoriam of Benjamin Britten for strings and one bell, Summa for strings and Festina Lente. The Cantus is brief but deeply moving, based on a single thematic idea, while Summa creates a mysterious aura with its haunting modal sound. Festina Lente’s long serpentine melody is simultaneously sounded in three different tempos, borrowing a compositional technique known as “mensuration canon” from Ockeghem and the other most learned fifteenth-century masters.

Find out more about Rudolf Werthen & I Fiamminghi


Continuing its acclaimed series of 20th-century music performed by I Fiamminghi, Telarc presents a stunning recording of two mystical pieces by… More
In their seventh recording for Telarc, the outstanding Flemish ensemble I Fiamminghi, led by their founder and conductor Rudolf Werthen, perform… More
Telarc continues its series of masterworks by contemporary composers with the acclaimed Flemish ensemble I Fiamminghi. More
This is the perfect introduction to the I Fiamminghi catalog. More
The Flemish orchestra I Fiamminghi, founded by its artistic director Rudolf Werthen, has won praise from the critics for over a decade for its… More
In the fourth disc of its series on late twentieth-century repertoire by the Flemish ensemble I Fiamminghi, Telarc presents a world premiere… More
The music of Gorecki has gained worldwide attention and continued popularity over the past few years. More
I Fiamminghi releases their second recording on Telarc of outstanding twentieth century repertoire, the mystical music of Alan Hovhaness. Alan… More