At Wattstax

Isaac Hayes

At Wattstax MP3
  • CAT # SCD-88042-25

    1. Theme From Shaft 3:15
    2. Soulsville 3:47
    3. Never Can Say Goodbye 3:36
    4. Part Time Love 3:48
    5. Your Love Is So Doggone Good 8:17
    6. Medley: Ain't No Sunshine / Lonely Avenue
    7. I Stand Accused 6:50
    8. Finale: Rev. Jesse Jackson / Jimmy Jones: If I Had A Hammer 9:25

Isaac Hayes was the final act on the Wattstax music festival bill. Although he was the headliner, prior to this collection only the medley of "Ain't No Sunshine/"Lonely Avenue" had previously been made available on the soundtrack album. Over three decades on, this appropriately-titled release features the entire Isaac Hayes at Wattstax (2003). The show was held at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on August 20, 1972 and also included contributions from Eddie Floyd, the Staple Singers, Rufus Thomas and daughter Carla Thomas as well as William Bell, Jimmy Jones, Albert King and others. By the time Hayes hit the stage the crowd had swelled to over 112,000 and along with his righteously funkified Isaac Hayes Movement, the Black Moses of Soul delivers one bad mutha of an hour-plus set. After a spirited introduction from Rev. Jessie Jackson, the band leaps headlong into a note-perfect and hard driving version of the "Theme From Shaft" -- complete with orchestration conducted and scored by the terminally funky Onzie Horne who would also work on Hayes' Live at the Sahara Tahoe (1973). Another Shaft (1971) soundtrack inclusion follows with the bleak social balladry of the perpetual urban sprawl, dubbed "Soulsville". The performance continues with a handful of the best tracks from Black Moses (1971) and includes a slinky and stirring reading of "Never Can Say Goodbye", which he dedicates to "all the lovers who quarrel … sometimes … all the time … and to the lovers who say they never quarrel at all." The fluid wah-wah fretwork of Charlie Pitts is complemented by Emerson Able's soaring flute and Gary Jones' laid back conga inflections. Sadly, "Part Time Love" is presented sans lead vocals as the master tapes are either missing or irreparably damaged. However clearly audible in the appropriate locations are the female backing vocal trio known as "Hot, Buttered and Soul". They also add counterpoint to Hayes' spoken introduction rap on the languid "Your Love Is So Doggone Good". While the centrepiece is undoubtedly the quarter-hour long "Ain't No Sunshine" and "Lonely Avenue" combo with a wailing sax solo from Hayes, not far behind is the tormented angst of "I Stand Accused". In terms of sheer emotion it is hard to beat his wrenching vocals as he throws himself into the song to a degree not delivered on the Isaac Hayes Movement version. This disc concludes on an inspirational note as the Rev. Jackson returns for a rousing invocation and prayer along with Jimmy Joneswho leads a gospel-fuelled rendering of "If I Had A Hammer". ~ Lindsay Planer, All Music Guide

Find out more about Isaac Hayes


This double LP, released on Stax Records' Enterprise label in 1971, was the follow-up to Hayes' successful soundtrack for Shaft. Black Moses… More
Of the many wonderful blaxpoitation soundtracks to emerge during the early '70s, Shaft certainly deserves mention as not only one of the most… More
ne of the best-available Isaac Hayes compilations, Greatest Hit Singles bypasses a couple of his later disco hits, but the result is a more… More
Hot Buttered SoulFour-song long-player ushered in the era of album-oriented soul with hits "By the Time I Get to… More
2009 installment in the popular For Lovers series featuring romantic performances from one of the music world's most iconic performers.. More
Stax Reissues Isaac Hayes' Shaft In Deluxe Edition. Digitally Remastered With Bonus material And Extensive Liner Notes. More
Isaac Hayes' legendary Hot Buttered Soul album reissued on Stax with two bonus tracks and digital remastering. More
Stax reissues Hayes' 1976 album, "Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak" on CD for the first time. More
Stax Records Reissues Isaac Hayes' "Black Moses" album on CD in Deluxe Edition with extensive liner notes. More
Isaac Hayes's first album, Presenting Isaac Hayes, was a low-budget, jazz-imbued affair recorded on the spur of the moment with only bass and… More
This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 18 greatest hits including “Theme from Shaft,” “Walk On… More
Isaac Hayes' 1969 solo debut Hot Buttered Soul set a soulful tone for the decade that followed, influencing innumerable artists and… More