Below The Fold

Otis Taylor

Below The Fold
  • CAT # 83627-25

    1. Feel like lightning 4:53
    2. Boy plays mandolin 4:01
    3. Hookers in the street 4:44
    4. Mama's got a friend 2:53
    5. Working for the Pullman Company 4:17
    6. Your children sleep good tonight 5:30
    7. Didn't know much about education 4:45
    8. Went to Hermes 3:46
    9. Government lied 5:11
    10. Right side of heaven 3:22
Genre defying, critically-acclaimed singer/songwriter, Otis Taylor's seventh CD, Below The Fold, marks the award-winning artist’s third disc for Telarc, the premiere blues/jazz/classical label. Featuring a variety of styles that stem from a blues-based core, the 10-track set results in a diverse and rhythmically complex cycle of songs which bond acoustic Delta blues with Appalachian country blues.

On Below The Fold, Taylor’s signature trance sound, marked by his artistic fearlessness, is fleshed out by the use of surprising instruments. Fiddle, organ and banjo meld into passionate narratives giving the songs an unearthly cast. “I’m obsessive about trying out new ideas and sounds," the 2005 WC Handy Award nominee explains. “And I’m particularly drawn to the banjo because it’s originally from Africa. In old-time music, banjoists would tap on their fifth string, a process which carries right through to Delta blues.” And for the first time, Taylor employs drums on several tracks. Standout selections include the brazen opener “Feels Like Lighting”, the warmly sung “Working For The Pullman Company” delivered by Taylor’s daughter Cassie, and the closer “Right Side Of Heaven” which bustles with the sounds of a New Orleans-style cajun marching band.

Revered as a riveting live performer whose music is equal parts John Lee Hooker and Nick Cave, Taylor has carved a unique niche for himself by creating music that Rolling Stone hails for “murky swamp drones and intricate African folk that move right past entertainment—into a realm where the blues can again be about illumination and provocation.”

Find out more about Otis Taylor


Roots music visionary Otis Taylor's 13th album, My World Is Gone, set for release on Telarc, a division of Concord Music Group, is a… More
Otis Taylor isn't defined by any single category. A musical alchemist and a true innovator, Taylor has never been afraid to experiment beyond the… More
Otis Taylor digs the past. Whether it’s the songs he wrote a decade ago, or ancient civilizations that lived more than 10,000 years ago… More
Otis Taylor Examines the Darker Dimensions of Love More
Otis Taylor Assembles a Stellar Crew to Rediscover the Banjo's African Roots. Recapturing the Banjo features Guy Davis, Corey Harris, Alvin… More
Definition of a Circle explores the secret places where blues, folk and rock converge “Otis Taylor is one of the most… More
The followup album to his best-selling 2003 Telarc debut Truth is Not Fiction, Double V comprises a dozen songs written, arranged… More
Truth Is Not Fiction, marks a significant shift in style from a minimalist, acoustic-driven approach as heard on his previous discs to the… More