Black Drops

Charles Earland

Black Drops
  • CAT # OJCCD-1078-25

    1. Sing A Simple Song 5:45
    2. Don't Say Goodbye 7:10
    3. Lazy Bird 7:18
    4. Letha 7:23
    5. Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head 3:48
    6. Buck Green 7:18

Black Drops was Charles Earland's followup to Black Talk, the blockbuster album he rode to fame in the soul-jazz organ wave of the late 1960s and early '70s. Earland brought back Virgil Jones on trumpet. He enlisted his fellow Philadelphian Jimmy Heath for the tenor saxophone role so crucial to organ groups. The little-known trombonist Clayton Pruden was another homeboy. Guitarist Maynard Parker and drummer Jimmy Turner were from Earland's road band. The organist demonstrates his ability to generate power in a number of grooves, from the outright funk of a Sly Stone song to a post-bop composition by John Coltrane. Earland's famous walking-bass pedal technique is much in evidence and his enormous energy is everywhere. He slides into tasty single-note lines on "Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head," a hit of the day that became a standard.

with Virgil Jones, Jimmy Heath, Clayton Pruden, Maynard Parker, Jimmy Turner

Find out more about Charles Earland


The young organist Charles Earland converted the Beatles’ “Eleanor Rigby” into an anthem called “Black Talk” and… More
Known, for obvious reasons, as "the Mighty Burner," organist extraordinaire Charles Earland (1941-2000) was especially exciting when… More
with Houston Person, Maynard Parker, Buddy Caldwell, Victor Paz, Jon Faddis, Richard Williams, Billy Harper, Seldon Powell, Darryl Washington… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
with Freddie Hubbard, Joe Henderson, Eddie Henderson, Dave Hubbard, Dr. Patrick Gleeson, Mark Elf, Eddie Arkin, Greg Crockett, Brian Brake, Harvey… More
Soul-jazz took such strong root in America’s soil, and well beyond, in great part because of the ability of its leading exponents to make… More
with Lew Soloff, Grover Washington, Jr., David “Fathead” Newman, Bobby Broom, Buddy Williams, Ralph Dorsey Recorded… More
with Virgil Jones, Bill Easley, Bobby Broom, Buddy Williams, Frank Colon Recorded June 27-28, 1988. More
On February 19, 1972, two days after the combo tracks on this disc were recorded, trumpeter Lee Morgan's life was taken by his companion. This… More
Charles Earland's version of "More Today Than Yesterday," done in a single take, remains one of the galvanizing examples of organ combo… More