Black Mountain Rag

Doc & Merle Watson

Black Mountain Rag
  • CAT # 11661-1620-2

    1. Black Mountain Rag 2:37
    2. Smoke Smoke Smoke 2:46
    3. Black Pine Waltz 2:32
    4. Red Rocking Chair 2:03
    5. Twinkle Twinkle 3:01
    6. Below Freezing (instrumental) 2:12
    7. Mole in the Ground 2:22
    8. Liza/Lady Be Good 2:53
    9. Down Yonder 2:21
    10. Cotton Row 2:45
    11. Sadie 2:47
    12. Leaving London 2:29
    13. Guitar Polka 2:17
    14. Fisher's Hornpipe/Devil's Dream 1:43
    15. Along the Road 2:49
    16. Bye Bye Bluebelle/Smiles 2:11
    17. Sheeps In the Meadow/Stoney Fork 2:50
    18. Take Me Out to the Ballgame 2:13
    19. Blackberry Blossom 3:14
    20. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar 2:31

Click here to purchase this album on

Born in 1923 in Deep Gap, North Carolina, Doc Watson is both one of the finest and most influential acoustic guitarists of the last half century and a treasure trove of traditional music. These recordings, culled from his early 1980s Flying Fish releases and remastered for this CD, showcase Doc's silk-smooth flatpicking and easygoing vocals and feature his son Merle on guitar, slide and banjo with T. Michael Coleman on bass and Mark O'Connor on fiddle. Also included is a 1990 guitar trio recording with Tony Rice and Norman Blake.

Find out more about Doc & Merle Watson


Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comThis album is an expanded edition of Doc and Merle Watson's classic Pickin' the Blues… More