Shelly Berg Trio

  • CAT # CCD-2216-25

    1. All My Tomorrows 5:51
    2. Estate 6:41
    3. Blackbird 8:15
    4. I Hear A Rhapsody 5:24
    5. Question And Answer 8:12
    6. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing 7:37
    7. All The Things You Are 7:07
    8. Hot It Up 5:00
    9. Blame It On The Sun 6:48
    10. She's Always A Woman 4:03
    11. If I Should Lose You 5:14
    12. Julia 4:42

"The great drummer Art Blakey once told a young musician: 'Play with conviction. The audience isn't interested in self-doubt?' With this album, his first for Concord Records, Shelly Berg flies the Blakey flag proudly, delivering a stunning set packed with thrills and surprises. It's not just music with conviction: it's the pianistic equivalent of a day on the roller coaster followed by a night of intimacies by the fire. There is rapture in this music and a good deal more. Wit. Humanity. And bravura performances by three artists playing at the very top of their game. Grab a seat: Professor Berg's seminar on The Art of Jazz is about to begin” - from liner notes by David Browning "Shelly Berg is a great jazz pianist who seems to have total command of his instrument. He is talented, too, as a composer, arranger and group leader, which is evident in the way he utilizes in his trio the excellent playing of his drummer and bassist." —Dave Brubeck

Find out more about Shelly Berg Trio