Break the Ice

The Preston Shannon Band

Break the Ice
  • CAT # 11661-9545-2

    1. Trouble 3:04
    2. Break The Ice 3:51
    3. You're The One 3:46
    4. Have Your Woman Ever Loved You So Good 3:29
    5. I Got Everything I Need 3:45
    6. Beale Street Boogaloo 4:07
    7. Put A Dollar In Your Pocket 2:53
    8. Forty Days And Forty Nights 3:56
    9. Lookin' For A Love 3:44
    10. I Got Somebody 3:22
    11. Crosscut Saw 3:11
    12. You're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone 4:20

Click here to purchase this album on

Memphis' Preston Shannon is one of the most exciting discoveries of the `90s, a powerful guitarist with a compelling and soulful voice that sounds like a cross between Otis Redding's and Bobby Womack's. He toured for a couple of years as a member of soul singer Shirley Brown's band; in concert he sang Womack's part in the soul duet Brown had done years before with Womack himself. More recently, he and his fine band won the National Blues Competition; augmented by the fabulous Memphis Horns. This album was cut at Memphis' Crosstown Recorders, with Ron Levy producing.

Find out more about The Preston Shannon Band