Budd Johnson And The Four Brass Giants

Budd Johnson

Budd Johnson And The Four Brass Giants
  • CAT # OJCCD-1921-25

    1. All My Love 4:04
    2. Blue Lou 5:11
    3. Trinity River Bottom 8:07
    4. Driftwood 4:22
    5. Blues For Lester (Memories Of Lester Young, Part 1) 6:55
    6. The Message (Memories Of Lester Young, Part 2) 6:40
    7. Don't Blame Me 4:16
    8. I'll Get By (As Long As I Have You) 4:33

Budd Johnson distributed his gifts through several eras of jazz. He was a major composer and arranger and a saxophonist whose style fit as comfortably into bebop as it did into swing. This 1960 album was a great expression of every aspect of Johnson's talent. His writing for the ensemble of Clark Terry, Harry Edison, Nat Adderley, Ray Nance, and his tenor sax is some of the most powerful of his career. With the toughness and tenderness that were equal parts of his tenor sax persona, in "Trinity River Bottom" he plays a blues solo over brass riffs that define his command of the written jazz idiom. Johnson includes a two-part tribute to his friend Lester Young. The jewel of the album is "Driftwood," a doleful melody played by Nance on violin and supported by some of the most richly textured writing of Johnson's remarkable 60-year career.

with Nat Adderley, Harry Edison, Ray Nance, Clark Terry, Jimmy Jones, Tommy Flanagan, Joe Benjamin, Herb Lovelle

Find out more about Budd Johnson