By George: George Gables Plays The Music Of George Gershwin

George Cables

By George George Gables Plays The Music Of George
  • CAT # OJCCD-1056-25

    1. Bess, You Is My Woman Now 7:26
    2. My Man's Gone Now 7:32
    3. I Got Rhythm 4:35
    4. Embraceable You 6:52
    5. Someone To Watch Over Me 7:07
    6. A Foggy Day 5:53
    7. Summertime 4:55

Pianist George Cables conceived this set in commemoration of the fiftieth anniversary of George Gershwin's death, and executed the entire recital with a keen balance of technique and taste. Virtuosity is present in abundance, in the details of both the improvisations and arrangements, yet never intrudes on Cables's overriding sense of melody and form. The collection unfolds in the manner of a live performance, with unaccompanied versions of "Embraceable You" and "Someone to Watch Over Me" separating trio performances that include three compositions from the immortal Porgy and Bess. John Heard and Ralph Penland, regular partners of the pianist when the session was recorded, provide empathetic support. This was a key album in lifting Cables from the realm of the great accompanists (for Dexter Gordon, Art Pepper, Frank Morgan, et al.) to his proper status as a complete musician.

with John Heard, Ralph Penland

Find out more about George Cables


This album was voted by many critics one of the best jazz recordings of 1982 and one of the best Art Pepper records ever. It was his last; Art… More
When today's commentators speak of jazz's "in-betweeners," those not old enough to be legends yet too old to be young lions… More