Cal Tjader Plays Harold Arlen & West Side Story

Cal Tjader

Cal Tjader Plays Harold Arlen West Side Story
  • CAT # FCD-24775-25

    1. Between The Devil & The Deep Blue 3:08
    2. Ill Wind (You're Blowing Me No Good) 4:25
    3. When The Sun Comes Out 2:42
    4. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe 3:27
    5. I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues 3:45
    6. Come Rain Or Come Shine 3:52
    7. Over The Rainbow 3:52
    8. Out Of This World 2:55
    9. Last Night When We Were Young 3:10
    10. The Man That Got Away 4:02
    11. Blues In The Night 3:32
    12. Prologue / Jet Song 7:47
    13. Something's Comin' 2:48
    14. Maria Interlude 1:33
    15. Maria 2:51
    16. Tonight 2:13
    17. America 4:04
    18. Cool 3:55
    19. One Hand, One Heart 1:54
    20. I Feel Pretty / Somewhere 6:40

Before the vibist Cal Tjader established himself in the early to mid-1960s as the leading Anglo proponent of Latin jazz, he was an engaging straightahead soloist. This disc finds Tjader (1925-1982) focusing on two of America's greatest composers, Harold Arlen (1905-1986) and Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990), both of whom were to varying degrees influenced by the rhythms and harmonies of jazz (and, in the case of Bernstein's score for West Side Story, Latin sounds). Aside from the leader, the common thread between the two LPs joined herein is the eloquent work of arranger Clare Fischer, whose services were enlisted for the last five selections of the Arlen collection, wherein the Tjader quartet is augmented by a string section, and for all of the West Side Story set. For the Oscar-winning Bernstein songs, Tjader had at his disposal a 26-piece orchestra, including 13 strings and three French horns. Rather than mere "jazz impressions" of two unquestioned geniuses of American music, Cal Tjader Plays Harold Arlen & West Side Story provides a superior example of how a gifted arranger at once honors a series of brilliant compositions while framing the soloist in consistently fresh ways.

with Willie Bobo, Red Callender, Clare Fischer, Lonnie Hewitt, Shelly Manne, Al McKibbon, Red Mitchell, Buddy Motsinger, Mongo Santamaria, and others

Find out more about Cal Tjader


In her recording debut, Mary Stallings more than held her own with one of the best bands Cal Tjader ever led. She was only 22 in 1961, but the… More


Personnel: Cal Tjader, vibraphone, percussion, bandleader; and various others, including Clark Terry, Dizzy Gillespie, trumpets; Buddy DeFranco… More
Cal Tjader’s distinctive sound—melding the cool sound of the vibes with fiery Latin rhythms—made for a signature style of Latin… More
Cal Tjader’s distinctive sound—melding the cool sound of the vibes with fiery Latin rhythms—made for a signature style of Latin… More
Cal Tjader crafted one the sleekest and most distinctive sounds in Latin jazz. His cool, shimmering, jazz vibes, gliding fluidly atop fiery, hot… More
Recorded in 1977, these consistently stimulating, previously unreleased live performances are further evidence of why for a quarter-century Cal… More
With the release of Both Sides of the Coin, Concord Records is pleased to present both sides of the artistry of vibraphonist Cal Tjader—the… More
The late vibist Cal Tjader remains the foremost American-born interpreter of Afro-Latin jazz. On the first half of this collection, made in… More
From the late 1950s until the end of his life, which ended too soon, vibist Cal Tjader (1925-1982) focused primarily on fusing jazz improvisation… More
Extremes bookends vibist-percussionist Cal Tjader's very first recordings, made c. 1951 for Fantasy and previously available only on… More
with Lonnie Hewitt, Victor Venegas, Eddie Coleman, Willie Bobo, Mongo Santamaria Recorded in performance May 27 and October 7, 1960. More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
with Lonnie Hewitt, Rob Fisher, Pete Riso, Poncho Sanchez Recorded May 22, 1976. More