Chicago - The Living Legends: South Side Blues

Mama Yancey And Little Brother Montgomery

Chicago The Living Legends South Side Blues
  • CAT # OBCCD-508-2

    1. A Wonderful Thing 4:00
    2. Four O'Clock Blues 3:47
    3. New Satellite Blues 3:54
    4. How Long Blues 5:43
    5. Jelly Jelly 3:22
    6. I Knew You Were Kiddin' All The Time 3:00
    7. Mama Yancey's Blues 4:43
    8. Jelly Roll Baker 3:10
    9. Make Me A Pallet On The Floor 3:46
    10. Things 'Bout Comin' My Way 3:14
    11. The Santa Fe Blues 4:40

Today, the sound of Chicago blues is associated with searing electric guitars and harmonicas, yet Chicago was a blues mecca long before anyone ever thought of plugging into an amplifier. Singer/guitarist Walter Vinson of the legendary Mississippi Sheiks, singer/pianist Little Brother Montgomery, and singer Mama Yancey (widow of the great blues and boogie pianist Jimmy Yancey) were veterans of the pre-electric Chicago scene and were in magnificent form when Riverside captured their plaintive acoustic stylings in 1961 for its Chicago: The Living Legends series. Montgomery’s elegant piano is heard on all cuts except those featuring VinsonÕs vocals. The album also contains two rare selections by the obscure singer and harp blower Henry Benson.

with Walter Vinson, Jesse Coleman, Sam Hill, Pops Foster, Earl Watkins, Ted Butterman, Bob Gordon, Rufus Brown, Mike McKendrick

Find out more about Mama Yancey And Little Brother Montgomery