City Life

The Blackbyrds

City Life LP F 9490
  • CAT # F-9490

    DISC ONE  
    1. Rock Creek Park 4:36
    2. Thankful 'Bout Yourself 5:11
    3. City Life 5:22
    4. All I Ask 3:52
    DISC ONE  
    1. Happy Music 4:56
    2. Love So Fine 5:04
    3. Flying High 3:33
    4. Hash And Eggs 5:06

The Blackbyrds -- a jazz-funk outfit formed in a university class taught by jazz trumpeter Donald Byrd, who produced the albums and wrote most of the tunes -- were more of an Earth, Wind & Fire-style horn band than a purist jazz crew, but few groups were better in their chosen style, and 1975's City Life is probably their best album. It's certainly their most successful, including the pop hit "Happy Music" and what has become their signature tune, a percolating Latin-flavored jam called "Rock Creek Park" that's one of the pinnacles of '70s jazz-funk. As on the bouncy title track, the lyrical content is minimal, a simple hypnotic chant, but the fluid interplay of the musicians, who are masters of the unison horn section and the polyrhythmic groove, is what's important about this music. Other highlights include the funky southern-style soul of "Hash and Eggs" and the lyrical ballad "Love So Fine." This is often-sublime stuff ripe for rediscovery by fans of '70s funk, soul, and fusion.

Find out more about The Blackbyrds


Compiled from their half dozen top-selling albums, Happy Music is full of the most danceable, party-hearty, spirited grooves found anywhere. For… More
LoveByrds is a concept album. The focus is strictly on a key forte in The Blackbyrds’ broad oeuvre: Love and Romance. Long before there… More
The Blackbyrds came together in the early 1970s at Howard University, where their mentor was that school's Chairman of the Jazz Studies… More
Trumpeter Donald Byrd always had a keen ear for talent. He discovered Herbie Hancock in the early Sixties and, a decade later, organized six of… More
Organized in 1974 at Howard University by jazz trumpeter and educator Donald Byrd and named after Black Byrd, his hit fusion album of the… More