Collector's Choice

Professor Longhair

Collectors Choice
  • CAT # 11661-2082-2

    1. Go To The Mardi Gras 2:50
    2. Every Day, Every Night 2:19
    3. If Only I Knew 2:32
    4. Cuttin' Out 2:36
    5. Big Chief 2:23
    6. Big Chief (Alternate Take) 2:27
    7. Everyone's Blowing 2:05
    8. Everyone's Blowing (Alternate Take) 1:55
    9. I Believe I'm Gonna Leave 2:19
    10. A Whole Lot Of Twisting 2:13
    11. Carnival Time 2:39
    12. Don't Mess With My Man 2:20
    13. You Talk Too Much 2:30
    14. I Don't Talk Too Much 2:10
    15. Double Eyed Whammy 2:25
    16. Check Mr. Popeye 2:13
    17. Mama Don't Allow 2:48
    18. Genevieve 2:38
    19. Feelin' Right Saturday Night 2:18

Click here to purchase this album on

Professor Longhair is indisputably one of the legends of New Orleans music, a major influence on virtually all later Crescent City keyboard players. On Collector's Choice, 10 early, seminal Longhair recordings are featured in context with the work of other New Orleans R&B figures most popular at the time these 45s were originally cut, a veritable Who's Who of late `50s to mid `60s R&B from New Orleans. Also featured is Irma Thomas' original 'You Can Have My Husband (But Please Don't Mess With My Man),' Al Johnson's Mardi Gras classic 'Carnival Time,' plus tracks by Tommy Ridgley, Eddie Bo and others. All but two tracks are from original Ric and Ron masters.

Find out more about Professor Longhair


Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comThe rediscovered tapes of Longhair's 'lost' 1971 sessions yielded some of the best… More