Country Style / Live

Ramblin' Jack Elliot

Country Style Live
  • CAT # FCD-24754-25

    1. Mean Mama Blues 1:51
    2. Low And Lonely 1:48
    3. The Wreck Of The Old 97 1:46
    4. Old Shep 2:57
    5. Wabash Cannonball 3:42
    6. Beautiful Brown Eyes 2:07
    7. Lovesick Blues 2:18
    8. Arthritis Blues 3:11
    9. Take Me Back And Try Me One More Time 1:51
    10. Tennessee Stud 3:34
    11. Those Brown Eyes 2:32
    12. Detour 2:05
    13. The Soldier's Last Letter 2:23
    14. Mule Skinner Blues 4:30
    15. Cool Water 4:00
    16. Talking Intro
    17. Talking Miner 2:05
    18. Boll Weevil 2:37
    19. How Long Blues 4:45
    20. Salty Dog 2:18
    21. Tyin' Knots In The Devil's Tail 2:26
    22. Hobo's Lullaby 2:16
    23. Talking Intro
    24. Talking Sailor 3:52
    25. Rock Island Line 4:53

Ramblin’ Jack Elliott is the folksinger’s folksinger. He based his vocal and guitar style squarely on the Woody Guthrie model and perfected Woody’s no-frills approach to material that ran the gamut from traditional ballads to contemporary folk and country. The records Jack made for Prestige in the early Sixties after returning Stateside from an extended stay in Europe are among his finest. On Country Style, Jack turned his attention to a range of material from Jimmie Rodgers, Roy Acuff, the Sons of the Pioneers, Hank Williams, Red Foley, and others. For his inimitable live performance on At the Second Fret, Elliott adds blues, traditional mountain songs, and two of Guthrie’s talking blues to the mix. Whatever the source, when Ramblin’ Jack learned a song, it was his, and when he performed it, it belonged to the whole audience.

Find out more about Ramblin' Jack Elliot