Damifiknow!/Memphis Experience

The Mar-Keys

DamifiknowMemphis Experience
  • CAT # SCD-88021-25

    1. Mustang Sally 3:30
    2. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) 3:28
    3. Knock On Wood 4:30
    4. Daydream 3:33
    5. Double Or Nothing 2:50
    6. Coffee Cup 2:48
    7. Black 2:36
    8. One With Sugar 3:04
    9. Jive Man 2:34
    10. Soul Man 2:42
    11. Heads Or Tails 2:30
    12. Cloud Nine 9:29
    13. After The Affair 4:41
    14. Reach Out I'll Be There 4:35
    15. Angel Dust 4:37
    16. Hummingbird 4:49
    17. Let It Be 3:16
    18. Creeper's Funkatrations 4:22

Compiled on this compact disc are the two final albums by the Mar-Keys, the Memphis band that burst on the scene in 1961 with "Last Night." The first, 1969's Damifiknow!, features the classic Mar-Keys lineup of Booker T. & the MGs plus the Memphis Horns. The second, 1971's Memphis Experience, is by an entirely different group--indeed, several aggregations of Memphis studio players (including, on three tracks, the Bar-Kays). These two all-instrumental albums, although issued only two years apart, provide, in the words of annotator Rob Bowman, "a listening experience that . . . succinctly dramatizes the core difference between Stax in the Sixties and Stax in the Seventies."

Steve Cropper, Donald "Duck" Dunn, Booker T. Jones, Al Jackson, Jr., Wayne Jackson, Andrew Love, Sidney Kirk, Raymond Jackson, Robert Johnson, Harold Beane, Teenie Hodges, Roland Robinson, Jerry Norris

Find out more about The Mar-Keys


The seeds of the Memphis soul sound were planted in 1961 when members of an all-white R&B band called the Mar-Keys got together with several… More