Drum Songs

Philly Joe Jones

Drum Songs
  • CAT # MCD-47094-25

    1. Trailways 6:54
    2. Invitation 4:55
    3. Helena 5:56
    4. Midnight Waltz 5:03
    5. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes 3:34
    6. Our Delight 5:26
    7. I Waited For You 5:43
    8. Bird 6:32
    9. Two Bass Hit 8:45
    10. Hi-Fly 13:10
    11. Drum Song 6:19

One of the all-around outstanding and most innovative drummers of all time, his work by turns peerlessly propulsive and consummately deft, Joseph Rudolph "Philly Joe" Jones began recording for the Fantasy Records subsidiary Galaxy in late 1977. In October of the following year Jones (1923-1985), who in the mid-1950s drove Miles Davis's first great quintet to groundbreaking success, led a top-flight septet that recorded enough material to fill two LPs. These albums, Drum Song and Advance!, joined herein, feature a host of superb soloists, including trumpeter Blue Mitchell (an old friend on one of his last recordings), trombonist-arranger Slide Hampton, ace tenor player Harold Land, and little-known but worthy multi-reedman Charles Bowen. Bolstered by the crack rhythm section of Jones, pianist Cedar Walton, and bassist Marc Johnson, the group breathes new life into bebop staples and standard tunes alike, while Jones, Hampton, and Walton are also heard to fine advantage as composers.

with Blue Mitchell, Slide Hampton, Charles Bowen, Harold Land, Cedar Walton, Marc Johnson

Find out more about Philly Joe Jones


After more than a decade away from the jazz limelight, drummer extraordinaire Philly Joe Jones resurfaced in 1977. After touring and recording… More
Any of the three albums recorded for Riverside under his leadership could easily have been titled "Philly Joe Jones and Friends." During… More
Philly Joe Jones, the irrepressible drummer who came to fame with Miles Davis in the mid-1950s, recorded frequently as a leader in his days with… More