Robert Shaw

  • CAT # 80602-25

    1. Gregorian Chant: Stabat Mater dolorosa (six verses) 1:44
    2. Poulenc: Stabat Mater: VIII. Fac ut ardeat 2:10
    3. Mozart: Ave verum corpus, K.618 2:54
    4. Mozart: Requiem, K.626: IV. Offertorium: Nr. 2: Hostias 4:09
    5. Faure: Sanctus from Requiem, Op. 48 3:30
    6. Durufle: Requiem, Op. 9: VII. Lux aeterna 3:55
    7. Poulenc: Mass in G major: IV. Benedictus 4:04
    8. Verdi: Four Sacred Pieces: I. Ave Maria 4:56
    9. Poulenc: Un soir de neige: III. Bois meurtri 2:38
    10. Beethoven: Elegiac Song 7:34
    11. Hindemith: When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom'd: IX. Death Carol, Come, lovely and soothing Deat 7:29
    12. Brahms: Schicksalslied, Op. 54 (Song of Destiny) 8:27
    13. Schoenberg: Friede auf Erden (Peace on Earth), Op. 13 10:38
Telarc presents a poignant compilations disc of songs, laments, chants, and single movements from large sacred works—all conducted by the late Robert Shaw—that evoke peace, reflection and remembrance.

All of the thirteen tracks in this beautiful collection are taken from a wide variety of previously released recordings made for Telarc by the late Robert Shaw, the Dean of American choral conductors. The featured compositions include single movements from large works for chorus and orchestra (such as the Requiems of Mozart, Faure, and Durufle) as well as works for unaccompanied voices (such as the "Ave Maria" from Quattro Pezzi Sacri by Verdi.)

The recording opens with the serene sounds of Gregorian chant: six verses of the Stabat Mater dolorosa, followed by the "Fac ut ardeat" movement from the Stabat Mater by Poulenc.

Secular works featured on Elegy include Beethoven's Elegiac Song; the Schicksalslied (Song of Destiny) by Brahms; a movement from Hindemith's poignant When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom'd; and the "Bois muertri" from Poulenc's Un soir de neige (Night of Snow). The recording closes, fittingly, with Schoenberg's eloquent a cappella choral work, Friede auf Erden (Peace on Earth).

Find out more about Robert Shaw


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.


a cappella is a collection of seventeen unaccompanied choral selections recorded during Robert Shaw's last decade from composers such as… More
One of the world's greatest and most highly-esteemed choral conductors, the late Robert Shaw made his final complete recording for Telarc in late… More