Evocation Of The Spirit
  • CAT # 80406-25

    1. Gorecki: Totus Tuus, Op. 60 11:19
    2. Part: Magnificat 9:21
    3. Martin: Mass: I. Kyrie 6:31
    4. Martin: Mass: II. Gloria 5:51
    5. Martin: Mass: III. Credo 6:24
    6. Martin: Mass: IV. Sanctus 5:02
    7. Martin: Mass: V. Agnus Dei 6:03
    8. Barber: Agnus Dei (based on Adagio for Strings) 10:59
    9. Schoenberg: Friede auf Erden (Peace on Earth), Op. 13 10:38

This first CD is a newly recorded collection of the most accessible, spiritually enlightening, and uplifting music of our time—brilliantly interpreted by Robert Shaw and the Robert Shaw Festival Singers. It features Barber's Agnus Dei, a vocal arrangement by the composer of the hauntingly beautiful Adagio For Strings.

Górecki’s music has a timeless flow of eternal truth. As the immensely popular Symphony No. 3, the a cappella motet, Totus Tuus clings to simple harmonies and avoids counterpoint as it rhapsodically repeats the text written by Mary Boguslawska. It was composed in 1987 for an open-air mass celebrated in Warsaw by Pope John Paul II, to whom it is dedicated.

Find out more about Robert Shaw & Robert Shaw Festival Singers


a cappella is a collection of seventeen unaccompanied choral selections recorded during Robert Shaw's last decade from composers such as Debussy… More


The great contribution of Robert Shaw to choral music has brought the listener to expect that nearly any recording or live performance under… More
Robert Shaw leads his Festival Singers from France in the Shaw-Parker arrangements of spirituals for a cappella chorus. More
"The chorus is beautiful in its flawless execution of Brahm's music. The Telarc recording is flawlessly smooth and natural. Full texts and… More
"...the Poulenc is pungent, varied, full of surprises...Shaw is masterful...nobody beats [him] at this sort of thing. Nobody." —Audio… More
GRAMMY Award Winner for Best Engineered Recording, Classical During the second annual Robert Shaw Institute of Music Festival held in July… More