Joe Pass Trio

  • CAT # OJCCD-1037-25

    1. A Foxy Chick And A Cool Cat 5:29
    2. Robbins Nest 8:45
    3. Lush Life 13:53
    4. Serenata 3:12
    5. Love For Sale 7:45
    6. Night And Day 6:43
    7. We'll Be Together Again 3:16
    8. Everything I Love 4:11
    9. Everything I've Got Belongs To You 5:33
    10. Speak Low 5:36

Eximious (egzi•mias, a. Now rare.): select, choice, excellent, distinguished, eminent. The Oxford English Dictionary's definition of "eximious" perfectly describes this 1982 session that put the master guitarist Joe Pass into a studio with Oscar Peterson's bassist and drummer of the time. Accustomed to working often as a solo artist, Pass was nonethless one of the greatest of all jazzmen in the give-and-take of trio and quartet playing. To the power and sensitivity of Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen and Martin Drew's accompaniment, his solos here constitute some of his finest playing of the Eighties. He does not entirely neglect his love for the high-wire challenges of unaccompanied improvisation; the CD includes a solo version of "We'll Be Together Again." Like the word "eximious," Pass's kind of artistry is "Now rare."

with Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Martin Drew

Find out more about Joe Pass Trio