Focal Point

McCoy Tyner

Focal Point MP3
  • CAT # OJCCD-1009-25

    1. Mes Trois Fils 7:56
    2. Parody 6:55
    3. Indo-Serenade 5:35
    4. Mode For Dulcimer 8:59
    5. Departure 5:58
    6. Theme For Nana 5:14

After he left John Coltrane's group in the mid-1960s, McCoy Tyner continued to explore the modal territory opened up by Coltrane. His many Milestone albums constitute a sort of library of the modal approach to modern jazz. Focal Point puts the pianist in settings of reeds and percussion. He and producer Orrin Keepnews achieved variety by imaginative use of instrumental combinations. In some cases, the three horns are multiplied through overdubbing, creating dense and intricate textures. A startling exception is "Parody," in which the density is achieved by only Tyner and drummer Eric Gravatt in a performance of unusual energy. In that regard, it recalls Tyner's partnership with Elvin Jones in the Coltrane band. Focal Point has an aura unique to Tyner but different from any of his other recordings.

with Gary Bartz, Joe Ford, Ron Bridgewater, Charles Fambrough, Eric Kamau Gravatt, Guilherme Franco

Find out more about McCoy Tyner


This classic trio date captures three luminaries, including bass revolutionary Stanley Clarke and drummer Al Foster, playing eleven tracks of… More


Orrin’s commentary (from his new liner notes): “Although I had been very much impressed by his work with [John Coltrane], listening to… More
Telarc releases McCoy Tyner's finest moments from five stellar recordings. More
Remastered in 24-bit from the original master tapes. Part of our Keepnews Collection, which spotlights classic albums originally produced by the… More
Years before rock guitarists began playing what came to be called “power chords,” a young McCoy Tyner was providing them pianistically… More
McCoy Tyner gave an electrifying concert at the 1978 Live Under the Sky Festival in Tokyo. These recordings, from the same occasion that produced… More
2005 Grammy Award Winner for Best Jazz Instrumental Album, Individual or Group McCoy Tyner, one of the most revered jazz pianists of the past… More
Rhythmically complex and harmonically adventurous, McCoy Tyner's Land of Giants reflects the élan of four master musicians relentlessly… More
McCoy Tyner's adventurous solo tribute to great jazz pianists of the last century. More
with Ron Carter, Tony Williams Recorded at Denen Coliseum, Tokyo, Japan, July 28, 1978. (previously unreleased). More
A sophisticated and much anticipated Latin release from one of modern jazz's most respected and imitated pianists. More
At the time of these live performances (1974), when much of the jazz keyboard world had plugged in, at least part-time, McCoy Tyner's piano… More
This was Tyner's second Milestone album following the 1972 Sahara (which was a recording by his working quartet) and preceding many… More