For The Second Time

Count Basie And The Kansas City 3

For The Second Time
  • CAT # OJCCD-600-2

    1. Sandman 5:45
    2. If I Could Be With You One Hour Tonight 3:23
    3. Draw 3:35
    4. On The Sunny Side Of The Street 5:20
    5. The One I Love Belongs To Somebody Else 4:47
    6. Blues For Eric 6:26
    7. I Surrender, Dear 5:25
    8. Racehorse 3:23

Anyone who ever heard Count Basie launch his band into a blues with several choruses of effortless piano has lamented that there is far too little of Basie the soloist among his recorded legacy. This shortage was rectified to a certain extent by the trio albums Basie made with Ray Brown and Louis Bellson in the Seventies, of which this is the sequel to the For the First Time (PACD-2310-712-2) set of the previous year. Once again, Basie's poetic introductions, precise calibrations of touch and coloration, and definitive swing create a joyous program of four venerable standards and an equal number of new blues. Bellson is empathetic throughout and dances with his brushes on "Sandman," while Brown's robust tone and earth-moving walking lines bring out the best in Basie the soloist and accompanist.

Sandman, If I Could Be with You One Hour Tonight, Draw, On the Sunny Side of the Street, The One I Love Belongs to Somebody Else, Blues for Eric; I Surrender, Dear; Racehorse

Find out more about Count Basie And The Kansas City 3