Genesis / Friction

The Soul Children

Genesis Friction
  • CAT # SCD-88038-25

    1. I Want To Be Loved 8:38
    2. Don't Take My Sunshine 3:59
    3. Hearsay 3:28
    4. All That Shines Ain't Gold 4:05
    5. It Hurts Me To My Heart 3:00
    6. I'm Loving You More Everyday 4:52
    7. Just The One (I've Been Looking For) 2:40
    8. Never Get Enough Of Your Love 4:30
    9. All Day Preachin' 3:55
    10. Get Up About Yourself 4:12
    11. I'll Be The Other Woman 3:33
    12. What's Happening Baby 6:42
    13. Can't Let You Go 4:47
    14. It's Out Of My Hands 2:45
    15. Just One Moment 4:37
    16. We're Getting Too Close 3:57
    17. Love Makes It Right 5:51

When Stax Records lost Sam and Dave to Atlantic Records, Stax responded by organizing the Soul Children. With four hard-wailing leads--two male, two female--the Soul Children brought quadruple dynamite to the fervent church-hewn soul formula established by the label's former duo. Recorded between 1971 and '73, mostly in Memphis, the 17 selections on this reissue of the quartet's third and fourth Stax albums are seldom short of incendiary. Included are the group's two biggest hits, the No. 5 R&B "Hearsay" and No. 3 R&B "I'll Be the Other Woman," the latter an ode to infidelity that showcases the aching alto tones of Shelbra Bennett.

J. Blackfoot, Norman West, Anita Louis, Shelbra Bennett

Find out more about The Soul Children


The Soul Children were organized in 1968 by songwriter/producers Isaac Hayes and David Porter. Their idea was to create a male/female version of… More
When Isaac Hayes and David Porter lost their hottest act, Sam and Dave, in 1968, the songwriting-producing duo promptly put together another vocal… More
John "Blackfoot" Colbert, Anita Lewis, Shelbra Bennett, Norman West Recorded between 1968 & 1974. More