Alvin "Red" Tyler

  • CAT # 11661-2061-2

    1. Count 'Em 4:46
    2. Cutie Pie 5:22
    3. Graciously 6:55
    4. Here's That Rainy Day 5:13
    5. If My Shoes Hold Out 4:30
    6. Greystoke 4:52
    7. Like So Many Others 5:18
    8. Dreamsville 8:08

Click here to purchase this album on

Alvin 'Red' Tyler followed his first Rounder album with another collection of gorgeous modern jazz compositions, from the Latin-tinged 'Count 'Em' to the elegant title cut, and interpretations of the standards 'Here's That Rainy Day' and 'Dreamsville.' Tyler is a member of the 'lost generation' of modern New Orleans jazz musicians who came of age in the 1950s, setting the stage for younger players like the Marsalis brothers. The band here includes guitarist Steve Masakowski, who went on to record as a solo artist for Blue Note.

Find out more about Alvin "Red" Tyler


Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comSaxophonist Alvin 'Red' Tyler is known to R&B historians as a member of the legendary… More