Guitar On The Go

Wes Montgomery Trio

Guitar On The Go
  • CAT # OJCCD-489-25

    1. The Way You Look Tonight (Alternate Take) 9:08
    2. The Way You Look Tonight 9:08
    3. Dreamsville 3:49
    4. Geno 2:53
    5. Missile Blues 5:57
    6. For All We Know 4:29
    7. Fried Pies 6:44
    8. (Unidentified Solo Guitar) 3:37

Guitar on the Go can be identified as the very last of Wes Montgomery's remarkable series of recordings for Riverside, the first company to spotlight his unique talents. This album, which features several intense performances by the man who revolutionized the art of jazz guitar, is probably best considered in tandem with the Montgomery LP that directly preceded it on Riverside (Portrait of Wes/OJCCD-144-2). Both are drawn from his final sessions for the label; both were first issued after the company had passed out of the hands of its original ownership (which may account for the admitted presence of two tracks repeated from earlier albums, "Missile Blues" and "Fried Pies"); and above all both present the artist in the organ trio setting in which he always claimed to feel most comfortable.

with Mel Rhyne, George Brown, Paul Parker, Jimmy Cobb

Find out more about Wes Montgomery Trio


Full House is the seventh and first live jazz album by American jazz legend, guitarist Wes Montgomery. Newly reissued on vinyl, this is an… More


Wes Montgomery's last sessions for Riverside late in 1963 marked a return to the organ trio format he always enjoyed. But the results had not yet… More
It is surely a great rarity to be able to rediscover the exact beginnings of a major artist. Something quite close to that occurs here: when… More
Special offer for beautifully packaged Japan import while supplies last. More