Hampton Hawes Trio, Vol. 1

Hampton Hawes

Hampton Hawes Trio Vol 1 MP3 OJCCD 316 25
  • CAT # OJCCD-316-25

    1. I Got Rhythm 3:15
    2. What Is This Thing Called Love 7:35
    3. Blues The Most 5:43
    4. So In Love 3:23
    5. Feelin' Fine 3:01
    6. Hamp's Blues 3:38
    7. Easy Living 6:33
    8. All The Things You Are 5:17
    9. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) 2:42
    10. Carioca 2:21

One of the forces in West Coast jazz circles, even from his neophyte days of the late Forties, was Hampton Hawes. When he played with the coolsters in the early Fifties he fit in stylistically but also supplied some of the needed heat in both his rhythmic comping and solos.
After Army service, when he returned to Los Angeles in 1955, he eventually formed a trio with bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Chuck Thompson. It meshed as cohesively as any threesome in jazz, presenting a dynamic in which Hawes's tremendous blues feeling and powerful articulation melded perfectly with Mitchell's sensitive accompaniment and brilliant solo abilities and Thompson's unrelenting concern for ensemble propulsion.

with Red Mitchell, Chuck Thompson

Find out more about Hampton Hawes


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.


A 1947 encounter with Charlie Parker may have been the defining moment in Hampton Hawes's musical development, but the spirituals he heard while… More
This album, made less than a year before Hampton Hawes's death, is the final chapter in one of the great artist/producer partnerships of the… More
with Denny Diaz, Leroy Vinnegar, Al Williams Recorded June 10, 1976. More
This was the last recording together of Hampton Hawes and Red Mitchell, whose bass had been an extension of the pianist's musical thinking for… More
The funkiest jazz pianist based on the West Coast, Hampton Hawes (1928-1977) made four LPs for Prestige in the early 1970s, at about the same time… More
This 1964 recording was Hampton Hawes’s first in more than five years. It radiates the sense of freedom the pianist felt after John F… More
There is irony in the history of The Sermon, one of the most directly affecting of Hampton Hawes's 14 albums for Contemporary. He… More
with Harold Land, Scott LaFaro, Frank Butler Recorded March 17, 1958. More
Though much later in his career Hampton Hawes experimented with electronic keyboards and fusion music, at heart he was a bebopper, as this session… More
With its unforgettable hip-alligator cover, Everybody Likes Hampton Hawes was not only one of the late pianist's most popular trio albums… More
Hampton Hawes (1928-1977) was one of the most gifted and natural of jazz musicians, an artist who played mostly by ear and who was a superbly… More
The second in the excellent series of recordings Hampton Hawes did in a trio setting for Contemporary, it again included Red Mitchell and Chuck… More