Happy Time

Roy Eldridge

Happy Time OJCCD 628 2
  • CAT # OJCCD-628-25

    1. Sweethearts On Parade 4:16
    2. Willow Weep For Me 4:55
    3. Makin' Whoopee 4:37
    4. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You 3:11
    5. All Of Me 3:05
    6. I Want A Little Girl 4:05
    7. On The Sunny Side Of The Street 6:50
    8. I Can't Get Started 7:59
    9. Stormy Monday 4:34
    10. Let Me Off Uptown 3:03

Roy Eldridge loved to sing. It was lovely to hear him sing, because he applied to his vocals the phrasing, intensity, humor, and grainy tonal quality of his jazz playing. A trumpet soloist whose every note had a rhythmic life of its own, Eldridge approached singing with the same urge to swing. His vocals were inflected with happiness. In this 1975 session, Eldridge wrapped his voice around ten classic songs and spiced the proceedings with his incomparable trumpet solos. His companions, all seasoned swingers, were the Oscar Peterson Trio of the day and Eddie Locke, who at the time was drumming nightly with Roy at Jimmy Ryan's in New York.

with Oscar Peterson, Joe Pass, Ray Brown, Eddie Locke

Find out more about Roy Eldridge


with Al Grey, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Freddie Green, Norman Keenan, Harold Jones

Recorded in 1972.



with Johnny Griffin, Ray Bryant, Joe Pass, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Louis Bellson, Milt Jackson Recorded July 20… More
Roy Eldridge, age 64 when this album was taped in 1975, remained the concentrated musical life-force that his nickname implied. Little Jazz was… More
What it was all about for Roy Eldridge was the joy of playing. For half a century, he was the archetype of the musician who put everything he had… More