Jacques Loussier Plays Bach: The 50th Anniversary Recording

Jacques Loussier Trio

Jacques Loussier Plays Bach The 50th Anniversary R
  • Release Date: 28 Apr 2009
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83693-25

    1. Partita in E major 3:11
    2. Bach: Invention for Two Voices No. 8 2:37
    3. Siciliana in G minor 3:32
    4. Bach: Vivace from Concerto in C Minor 4:50
    5. Toccata and Fugue in C major: Overture 6:50
    6. Toccata and Fugue in C major: Adagio 3:38
    7. Toccata and Fugue in C major: Fugue 5:23
    8. Bach: Minuet in G Major 3:55
    9. Bach: Prelude No. 2 in C Minor 6:36
    10. Bach: Chromatic Fantasy 3:23
    11. Chorale No. 1 Sleepers Awake 8:26

Jacques Loussier Trio Celebrates a Half-Centruy of Classical-Jazz Innovation

Jacques Loussier Plays Bach: The 50th Anniversary Recording

The 1950s were one of the most experimental periods in the history of jazz. In the wake of the big-band era of World War II and the late 1940s, jazz combos on either side of the Atlantic scaled back in size and sought innovative ways to do more with less. The results were often exploratory and experimental. Musicians everywhere grafted different musical ideas to the widely accepted jazz conventions of the day.

For Jacques Loussier, the results of these experimental forays ultimately played a prominent role in the evolution of jazz. In the 1950s, he was a young pianist trying to find ways to improvise on the compositions of J.S. Bach. When he took the occasional break from his classical training to entertain friends by mixing elements of Bach with jazz, the results were something fresh, innovative and widely popular in the Paris club scene – popular enough, in fact, to launch a career.

Jacques Loussier assembled the first incarnation of his Play Bach Trio in 1959, and immediately forced musicians and audiences of both jazz and classical music to rethink the boundaries – and indeed, the similarities – between their respective genres. Five decades later, Telarc International – a division of Concord Music Group – celebrates this landmark anniversary with the release of Jacques Loussier Plays Bach: The 50th Anniversary Recording.

In addition to marking the golden anniversary of the Loussier Trio, the 2009 release also heralds a milestone birthday for Loussier himself, who turns 75 on October 26.

Recorded in France, Japan and England – and out of circulation since the early 1990s – the tracks are culled from various points along the prolific and influential trajectory of the Play Bach Trio following the group’s lengthy hiatus in the early ‘80s (Loussier disbanded his original lineup in 1979 and retreated to the countryside of Provence to build a large studio as a place to compose and record in rural solitude).

“What we hear on the present CD came about as a result of the J.S. Bach tercentenary celebrations in 1985,” says jazz historian Alyn Shipton in his liner notes to The 50th Anniversary Recording. “It was suggested to Jacques that he might relaunch the trio as part of the year-long celebration of Bach’s birth, and so he recruited the brilliant young bassist Vincent Charbonnier, who was already making a name for himself not only as a jazz player but as a baroque specialist…and the drummer Andre Arpino.”

“I think now that today’s trio is the best I have ever led,” says Loussier, “but this anniversary album is very import ant to me, because it represents a crucial point in the group’s history, both looking back at the past but also pointing in our future direction.”

For all of the brilliance captured in Jacques Loussier Plays Bach: The 50th Anniversary Recording, the veteran pianist-composer insists that this half-century mark is merely a stop on a much longer journey. “This is the best playing of my life,” says Loussier. “And now we can look forward to our hundredth anniversary. Just another fifty years to go!”

Find out more about Jacques Loussier Trio


For more than six decades, pianist Jacques Loussier has explored where the structure and traditions of classical music intersect with the… More
"This particular work by Schumann is ideal for reinterpretation in a jazz setting," says Loussier. More
Jacques Loussier recorded this two-disc collection in 1991 and 1992 with his newly formed Play Bach Trio. The set spotlights Loussier's numerous… More
For more than four decades, pianist Jacques Loussier has maintained a long and prolific association with Johann Sebastian Bach. As frontman in the… More
Following up on the success of his interpretation of Beethoven's Allegretto, from Symphony No. 7, and the Best of Play Bach, Jacques Loussier… More
The Jacques Loussier Trio, whose marriage of classical music and jazz has captivated fans of both genres worldwide for nearly four decades, brings… More
The ever-innovative Jacques Loussier Trio make crossover fireworks in a swinging recording of "royal" classics by Handel. More
French pianist/composer Jacques Loussier, the master of blending jazz in a classical style and Telarc's best-selling international artist, joins… More
Telarc's best-selling international artist brings his unique improvisatory style and imaginative tonal colors to the sensual, dreamlike music of… More
Only the founding father of the Play Bach Trio could sweep the cobwebs off this monumental opus! More
Jacques Loussier is the man who has brought Bach and jazz together more successfully than anyone in history with over six million copies sold… More
Composer and arranger Jacques Loussier continues his highly successful Telarc series of jazz interpretations of classical masters. More