Just A Closer Walk With Thee

Brownie McGhee & Sonny Terry

Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • CAT # OBCCD-541-25

    1. Just A Closer Walk With Thee 2:30
    2. Children, Go Where I Send Thee 2:28
    3. What A Beautiful City 3:35
    4. Glory, Glory 3:30
    5. If I Could Hear My Mother Pray 4:19
    6. I'm Going To Shout 1:58
    7. I Shall Not Be Moved 2:40
    8. Packing Up 4:05
    9. Get Right Church 3:04
    10. Some Of These Days 2:44
    11. If You See My Saviour 4:35
    12. You Can't Hide 2:36

Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee, on-and-off partners since 1942, were in the cast of Tennessee Williams’s Cat on a Hot Tin Roof when they made their first official recordings as a duo in March 1957 at Jenny Lind Hall in Oakland. The marathon session produced three albums. The first two are currently available as California Blues (Fantasy FCD-24723-2); this reissue completes the trilogy. It is unique in that it is composed entirely of religious songs, some of which they had performed during the play’s first act. The original liner notes described this material as “uninhibited cries of praise, many of them quite rough compared to some of the relatively polished pieces that one hears at a typical McGhee/Terry concert.

Find out more about Brownie McGhee & Sonny Terry


Out of print for nearly four decades, this 1953 recording is one of the rarest of all Sonny Terry albums. It's also one of those rare Terry… More


Sonny Terry (1911-1986) and Brownie McGhee (1915-1996) were the longest lasting and most beloved team in the history of the blues. This… More
with Roy Haynes Recorded December 1959 & September 1960. More
Opposites seldom attract as successfully as did Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry. Throughout their long musical partnership, Terry’s raw… More
Although Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee had known each other since 1939, they didn’t begin performing together regularly until nearly 20… More