Kodaly: Dances of Galanta, Hary Janos & Peacock Variations

Yoel Levi & Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Kodaly Dances of Galanta Hary Janos Peacock Variat
  • CAT # 80413-25

    1. Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite: I. Prelude. The Fairy Tale Begins (Con moto) 3:34
    2. Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite: II. Viennese Musical Clock (Allegretto) 2:08
    3. Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite: III. Song (Andante, poco rubato) 5:54
    4. Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite: IV. The Battle and Defeat of Napoleon (Alla Marcia) 4:08
    5. Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite: V. Intermezzo (Andante maestoso, ma con fuoco) 5:14
    6. Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite: VI. Entrance of the Emperor and His Court (Alla Marcia) 3:03
    7. Kodaly: Dances of Galanta 16:09
    8. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Moderato 5:03
    9. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. I Con Brio
    10. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. II
    11. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. III Piu mosso
    12. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. IV Poco calmato
    13. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. V Appassionato
    14. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. VI.Tempo (calmato)
    15. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. VII Vivo
    16. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. VIII Piu vivo
    17. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. IX 1:28
    18. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. X Molto vivo
    19. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. XI Andante espressivo 2:47
    20. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. XII Adagio 3:40
    21. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. XIII Tempo de Marcia funebre 1:56
    22. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. XIV Andante, poco rubato 2:11
    23. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. XV Allegro giocoso
    24. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Var. XVI Maestoso 1:49
    25. Kodaly: Peacock Variations: Finale: Vivace 3:59

The music of Zoltan Kodaly pays tribute to his ancestral home of Hungary. The Dances of Galanta were the product of a commission from the Budapest Philharmonic, in honor of its 80th anniversary in 1933. For this work, Kodaly turned to a collection of Hungarian gypsy dances published around 1800 in the style of the verbunkos, a dance of alternating fast and slow sections used by military recruiters in the eighteenth century to entice young men into joining the army.

The Hary Janos Suite is taken from Kodaly's opera of the same name and is based on the fantastic stories woven around the military exploits of Janos, who actually lived in Hungary early in the nineteenth century. Kodaly classified the folk song The Peacock one of the most ancient melodies of the Eastern European tradition. Its nationalistic text, ("Fly peacock fly...to bring freedom to poor prisoners") stirred listeners to such an extent that performances of the Peacock Variations were forbidden by the Nazis during World War II.

Find out more about Yoel Levi & Atlanta Symphony Orchestra


Everybody's Sibelius: Symphonies 1, 2 & 5, Swan of Tuonela, Finlandia More
Atlanta Symphony Music Director Emeritus Yoel Levi makes his final Mahler symphony recording for Telarc with radiant soprano Barbara Bonney on… More
Levi and Atlanta turn to Mahler's earliest symphony, with the inclusion of the delicate and lovely "Blumine" 2nd movement andante, after… More
Although subtitled "Song of the Night," Mahler's Seventh Symphony is one of his few symphonies to be written without vocal music being… More
Yoel Levi and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra give lively yet poetic readings of these popular, spirited works for orchestra. More
Levi and Atlanta bring passion and power to Mahler's "Tragic" Symphony—never have the "hammer blows" of fate sounded so menacing as they are… More
In Telarc's spectacular Surround Sound, Levi leads the ASO in one of the most popular and colorful pieces of classical music ever written for… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
Yoel Levi and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra perform a collection of Beethoven's Overtures including Egmont, The Creatures of Prometheus, Leonore… More
Mahler's spectacular Fifth Symphony performed by Yoel Levi and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. More
"...an urgent grippingly impulsive performance, all the more compelling for its extremes of dynamic and tempo, within a sternly marshalled overall… More
William Tell and other beloved Rossini Overtures with Yoel Levi and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. More