Live 1952 - 1955

Brother Joe May

Live 1952 1955
  • CAT # SPCD-7054-25

    1. God Leads Us Along 2:26
    2. I'm A Child Of The King 2:00
    3. Move On Up A Little Higher 4:36
    4. He's Waiting For Me 2:04
    5. Old Ship Of Zion 5:25
    6. Vacation In Heaven 3:15
    7. Jesus Is Real To Me 4:09
    8. All Of My Burdens (Ain't That Good News) 2:30
    9. He's The One 3:45
    10. I Want Jesus On The Road I Travel 3:46
    11. How I Got Over 1:49
    12. Hold To God's Unchanging Hand 5:25
    13. By And By When I Get Home 4:00
    14. Move On Up A Little Higher 4:36
    15. Speak Lord Jesus 3:10
    16. He'll Understand And Say Well Done 7:12

Brother Joe May's studio recordings for Specialty, the ones that made him the most popular male soloist of gospel's Golden Age, tended to be rhythmic. To May and those who knew his music best, however, the Mississippi-born singer's true forte was at slower tempos in front of live audiences, where he could stretch out and let the spirit guide his awesome pipes, a cross between those of Enrico Caruso and Big Joe Turner, to heights of galvanizing passion. These previously unissued live recordings capture the Thunderbolt of the Middle West at the peak of his powers and in the company of such contemporaries as daughter Annette May, the Sallie Martin Singers, Prof. J. Earle Hines, and members of Dorothy Love Coates and the Original Gospel Harmonettes and the Swan Silvertones.

with Annette May, the Sallie Martin Singers, Prof. J. Earle Hines

Find out more about Brother Joe May


They didn't call Brother Joe May (1912-1972) "the Thunderbolt of the Middle West" for nothing. "He has the most powerful and… More