Live At McCabe's

Norman Blake

Live At McCabes
  • CAT # TAKCD-6506-25

    1. Introduction By Nancy Covey 1:00
    2. Nine Pound Hammer 4:07
    3. Sweet Heaven When I Die 3:59
    4. Introducing Nancy Blake 1:00
    5. Border Widow 2:10
    6. "G" Medley: Green Leaf Fancy / Fields Of November / Fort Smith
    7. Dry Grass On The High Fields 2:35
    8. John Hardy 5:24
    9. Arkansas Traveler 2:26
    10. Medley: Bully Of The Town / Bonapart's Retreat / Richland Avenue Rag 3:39
    11. Harvey's Reel 2:00

Live at McCabe’s was a landmark in the career of Norman Blake. This first West Coast appearance was the occasion of one of the only live recordings by the great multi-instrumentalist. Norman’s engaging vocals, exceptional songwriting skills, and charming stage manner are all on display, and there are a couple of duets with his wife, Nancy, that indicate the greatness these two would attain over the years of their association. But what has made Live at McCabe’s legendary among Blake’s fans is that it is the best showcasing ever of his flatpicking guitar skills. So much of Blake’s attention over the years has gone into other aspects of his music that it is possible to wonder why he is mentioned in the same breath as Doc Watson, Clarence White, and Dan Crary as one of the finest flatpickers ever. The reasons can all be heard on this great record.

Introduction by Nancy Covey, Nine Pound Hammer, Sweet Heaven When I Die, Introducing Nancy Blake, Border Widow, “G” Medley: (Green Leaf Fancy/Fields of November/Fort Smith), Dry Grass on the High Fields, John Hardy, Arkansas Traveler, Medley: (Bully of the Town/Bonaparte’s Retreat/Richland Avenue Rag), Harvey’s Reel

with Nancy Blake

Find out more about Norman Blake


Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comGuitarist and vocalist Norman Blake is a treasure of old-time American music whose… More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comNorman Blake won many new fans through his two songs on the soundtrack to the film, O… More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comThis CD contains all the tracks originally issued on The Fields of November (1974) and… More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comBluegrass and traditional country material drawn from several of Blake's Rounder… More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comA master storyteller (whether he opens his mouth or not), Norman Blake's grace… More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comThe first album to feature the virtuoso acoustic guitar playing of Norman Blake has… More
Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comThis is the album which established Norman Blake as an innovative master of acoustic… More