Live At Sugar Hill, Vol. 2

John Lee Hooker

Live At Sugar Hill Vol 2
  • CAT # FCD-7714-25

    1. You Torture My Soul 3:43
    2. Bottle Up And Go 3:03
    3. Come Back Baby (Let's Talk It Over) 3:29
    4. Catfish Blues 3:35
    5. What's The Matter Baby 3:34
    6. Jelly Jelly 3:35
    7. The Things That I Used To Do 2:58
    8. Taxi Driver 4:01
    9. I Love No One But My Baby 3:32
    10. Crawlin' King Snake 5:00
    11. I Can't Hold On 4:11
    12. How Can You Do It 3:29
    13. Let's Get It 2:14
    14. Sinner's Prayer 5:10
    15. That's All Right 4:08
    16. What'd I Say 5:30
    17. You Don't Miss Your Water 4:19
    18. Third Degree 3:46
    19. Five Long Years 4:08

Whether generating boogie lightnin' on electric guitar at Henry's Swing Club on Hastings Street in Detroit or creating back porch-style country blues as he did in November 1962 at Sugar Hill on Broadway in San Francisco, John Lee Hooker seldom failed to satisfy his legion of fans. Hooker's Live at Sugar Hill album--currently available as part of the Fantasy CD Boogie Chillun (FCD-24706-2)--stands as one of the most intimate performances in his extensive discography. Now, 40 years later, come 19 equally commanding selections from the very same club date, among them such Hooker favorites as "Crawlin' King Snake" and "Catfish Blues" and Hookerized treatments of numbers by Ray Charles, Lowell Fulson, Guitar Slim, and Eddie Boyd--all delivered entirely solo, in the unique, timeless John Lee Hooker fashion.

Find out more about John Lee Hooker


In celebration of its 60th anniversary, Specialty Records presents this exciting new CD series of… More
One needn’t rhyme to make meaninful poetry, a point John Lee Hooker proved time and time again throughout his prolific career. This compact… More
When Riverside Records recorded this John Lee Hooker session in 1959, producer Bill Grauer asked the Mississippi moaner to play acoustic guitar… More
with Eddie Burns, Andrew Dunham Recorded between 1948 and 1950. More
John Lee Hooker (1917-2001) is the most down-home of the major post-war blues figures, “a most authentic singer of the way-back… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
Recorded November 2-3 and 8-10, 1962. More
with Sam Jones, Louis Hayes Recorded in 1960. More