Lost Music Of Early America: Music Of The Moravians

Martin Pearlman & Boston Baroque

Lost Music Of Early America Music Of The Moravians
  • CAT # 80482-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Hymn: Freuen wir uns 1:27
    2. Johann Friedrich Peter: Der Herr ist mein Theil 1:29
    3. Jeremiah Dencke: Meine Seele erhebet den Herrn 1:43
    4. Johann Friedrich Peter: Es ist ein kostlich Ding 1:59
    5. Hymn: Join We All with One Accord 1:41
    6. David Moritz Michael: Hail Infant Newborn 1:04
    7. John Antes: Loveliest Immanuel 2:11
    8. Simon Peter: Ich will euch wie ein Thau seyn 1:48
    9. Johann A. P. Schulz: Thou Child Divine 2:08
    10. Hymn: Zeige mir dein Angesicht 1:35
    11. Hymn: Heiliger Herre Gott 1:50
    12. Johann Peter Kellner, arr. Christian Gregor: Ach Schonster unter allen 5:04
    13. Johannes Herbst: Suchet sein Antlitz 1:51
    14. John Gambold: Die mit Thranen saen 2:36
    15. Hymn: Lob Gott getrost mit Singen 1:00
    16. Johann Christian Geisler: O lieblicher Heiland, du mein Versohner 2:30
    17. Jeremiah Dencke: Gesegnet bist du, sein Volk 1:34
    18. Johannes Herbst: Ich gehe einher in der Kraft des Herrn 2:45
    19. Hymn: Herz Und Herz Vereint Zusammen 1:56
    20. Hymn: Kommt, danket dem Helden 1:15
    21. Christian Gregor: Das ist ein Tag
    22. Johann Friedrich Peter: Ich will immer harren 1:28
    23. Johann Friedrich Peter: Ich danke Dir ewiglich 1:58
    24. Johann Christian Geisler: Die Frucht des Geistes ist Liebe 2:14
    25. Georg Gottfried Muller: O Sing, all ye Redeemed 3:53
    26. Jeremiah Dencke: Mein Herz dichtet ein feines Lied 2:14
    27. Simon Peter: Siehe meine Knechte 2:40
    28. Johann Friedrich Peter: Ich will dir ein Freudenopfer thun 2:01
    29. Hymn (J. C. Bechler): Sing Hallelujah 1:01
    30. Hymn: Herr und Altster deiner Kreuzgemeine 1:06
    31. Hymn: Jesus Makes My Heart Rejoice
    32. John Gambold: Rondo for piano 5:02
    DISC TWO  
    1. Martin Pearlman Discusses Music Of The Moravians 21:53
Telarc presents the first and only available CD recording of American Moravian music—the first true early American classical music, beautifully performed by America's oldest continuing period instruments ensemble, Boston Baroque.

Because many of the compositions are short, director Martin Pearlman arranged them into the patterns appropriate for the Moravian “Lovefeast,” or Liebesmahl, a special kind of sung service still in use today, which includes the singing of hymns, psalms and anthems. Included are Lovefeasts for Christmas, Lent and the simple giving of thanks. Also featured are two pieces for trombone choir and a piece for solo pianoforte.

Boston Baroque is the oldest continuing period instrument orchestra in North America, and remains one of the most stunning as well.

Find out more about Martin Pearlman & Boston Baroque


Boston Baroque’s 20th Telarc release gives modern audiences their first opportunity to hear music Mozart wrote for the castrato voice sung… More
Martin Pearlman and Boston Baroque Complete Handel's Opus 6 Concerti Grossi with Nos. 7 - 12 As the old saying goes, “good… More
Luigi Cherubini's Powerfully Expressive Requiem In C Minor is Centerpiece of New Recording by Martin Pearlman and Boston Baroque… More
Boston Baroque and Director Martin Pearlman bring us exuberant performances of two of the most popular Baroque choral works of all time… More
Continuing with their tradition of recording great works in a period fashion, Boston Baroque returns with special guest flutist Jacques Zoon, who… More
Boston Baroque, one of America's great orchestras, gives revelatory performances of the Bach orchestral suites on this new Telarc recording. More
A fresh take on two of Handel's classic works Water Music and Music for the Royal Fireworks, performed by Boston Baroque on period… More
Telarc presents three-time Grammy nominee Boston Baroque in a highly entertaining double bill. More
Telarc presents the first recording on period instruments of Gluck's dramatic masterpiece, Iphigenie en Tauride. The title role, made… More
The oldest continually-performing period instrument ensemble in North America culminated its 25th Anniversary season with this recording of the… More
Martin Pearlman conducts the Grammy-nominated Boston Baroque period instruments orchestra and chorus, along with seven vocal soloists, in a… More
Following its highly acclaimed Telarc release of Robert Levin's completion of the Mozart Requiem, the Boston Baroque orchestra and chamber chorus… More