Lullaby Of Birdland

George Shearing & Brian Torff

Lullaby Of Birdland
  • CAT # CCD2-4927-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. One For The Woofer 8:31
    2. Autumn In New York 5:03
    3. The Masquerade Is Over 6:27
    4. That's What She Says 3:58
    5. Soon It's Gonna Rain 5:33
    6. High And Inside 3:46
    7. For Every Man There's A Woman 3:53
    8. This Couldn't Be The Real Thing 3:21
    9. Up A Lazy River 5:10
    DISC TWO  
    1. Spoken Introduction
    2. Love For Sale 10:06
    3. On A Clear Day (You Can See Forever) 6:56
    4. Brasil '79 5:22
    5. Don't Explain 6:25
    6. Happy Days Are Here Again 2:57
    7. Have You Met Miss Jones? 4:26
    8. Blue Island Blues 5:15
    9. Lullaby Of Birdland 5:44

The first two instrumental recordings in GEORGE SHEARING's fruitful, decade-long association with Concord Records found one of the most distinctive of jazz pianists entering a new - and extraordinarily creative - phase of his musical career. Paring down his famous quintet configuration in order to explore all the expression, nuance and communication of the piano/bass duo combination, Shearing found the perfect foil for his inventiveness and quick-minded musical wit in bassist Brian Torff. The first two Concord recordings capturing the duo magic of the Shearing/Torff partnership - Blues Alley Jazz and On A Clear Day - are now presented together in one specially-priced package. Not coincidentally, the encore finale of this special two-disc collection is a rousing live version of the Shearing-penned, bebop standard, Lullaby of Birdland. "Their performances are virtuosic, intuitive, full of sly wit and always swinging·.Brilliant music." -- Scott Yanow, All Music Guide

Find out more about George Shearing & Brian Torff