Live At The 1994 Monterey Jazz Festival

Shirley Horn

Live At The 1994 Monterey Jazz Festival
  • CAT # MJFR-30313-25

    1. Introduction
    2. Foolin' Myself 2:14
    3. The Look Of Love 7:19
    4. How Am I To Know 4:49
    5. L.A. Breakdown (And Take Me In) 5:52
    6. Nice 'n' Easy 4:47
    7. A Song For You 6:42
    8. I've Got The World On A String 4:16
    9. Here's To Life 5:02
    10. Hard Hearted Hannah 2:46
    11. Blues For Big Scotia 3:06

From the liner notes: "In 1994, in Tim Jackson's second full year of producing the Monterey Jazz Festival, he invited pianist/vocalist Shirley Horn to the autumn classic for the first time. She had recently turned 60 and was in the midst of a career resurgence, thanks to a multi-CD contract with Verve Records that began in 1987 with her stellar comeback album, I Thought About You, a live recording at Hollywood's Vine St. Bar and Grill. "At Monterey, Shirley was at the peak of her powers," says Jackson. "It made sense to have her play the festival."-Dan Ouellette

Personnel: Shirley Horn, piano, vocals; Charles Ables, bass; Steve Williams, drums

Find out more about Shirley Horn


When Shirley Horn died, in October of 2005 at 71, the worlds of Jazz and American Popular Song lost perhaps their most shiningly individualistic… More