50 Years Of Dave Brubeck: Live At The Monterey Jazz Festival, 1958-2007

Dave Brubeck

50 Years Of Dave Brubeck Live At The Monterey Jazz
  • CAT # MJFR-30680-25

    1. Two Part Contention (1958) 12:29
    2. Someday My Prince Will Come (1962) 5:21
    3. Take Five (1966) 5:40
    4. Sermon On The Mount (1971) 5:35
    5. Jumping Bean (1971) 8:23
    6. Tritonis (1985) 7:32
    7. Goodbye Old Friend (1998) 2:14
    8. I Got Rhythm (2002) 7:01
    9. Sleep (2006) 5:37
    10. Margie (2007) 10:27

From the liner notes: "...[This] present collection [offers] an uncommon overview of artist/venue synchronicity. Unlike other volumes in the series, it is not confined to a single performance, but rather spans the entire Monterey Jazz Festival history and captures much of Brubeck's own history in the process. Along the way it touches on several aspects of this sui generis jazz career with challenging originals, signature hits, historic partnerships, and spontaneous encounters."-Bob Blumenthal

Personnel: Dave Brubeck, piano; and various others, including Paul Desmond, alto saxophone; Gerry Mulligan, baritone saxophone; Bill Smith, clarinet; Eugene Wright, bass; Joe Morello, drums.

Find out more about Dave Brubeck


This set is a near-classic, one of many from this period, by the Dave Brubeck Quartet. Drummer Joe Dodge had just joined the group, and he works… More


Dave Brubeck covers a host of favorite carols on this solo outing. His chime-like "Joy to the World" and striding "Winter… More
Concord Music Group is launching five new titles in its Very Best Of jazz series, which showcases some of the very best tracks culled from the… More
The Definitive Dave Brubeck on Fantasy, Concord Jazz and Telarc celebrates the music legend's 90th birthday; reaches back to brubeck’s… More
Much of the success of Dave Brubeck’s career is founded on his original compositions or, in the case of “Take Five,” one by Paul… More
Of all the kingpins of West Coast (or “cool”) jazz, Dave Brubeck (b. 1920) has forged the most enduring and successful career, both as… More
Indian Summer is Dave Brubeck’s first solo piano recording since his historically resonant 2004 release, Private Brubeck Remembers. This… More
In celebration of Dave Brubeck’s 60th Anniversary of his recording debut, Concord Music Group… More
Just in time for the 60th anniversary of D-Day, Telarc will release Private Brubeck Remembers, a collection of solo piano renditions of some of… More
As part of a series of selected CD releases from Marian McPartland’s Peadbody Award-winning Piano Jazz radio show, as heard on National… More
"His pieces blend the swing-to-barrelhouse aesthetic of his youth with a long established predisposition toward classical forms, complex… More
In 1958, the Dave Brubeck Quartet toured England for the first time. Forty years later, they return triumphantly with new material and to… More
For his seventh Telarc album, In Their Own Sweet Way, pianist Dave Brubeck again reinvents himself with fresh verve. More