Melting Pot
  • CAT # SCD-8521-25

    1. Melting Pot 8:15
    2. Back Home 4:40
    3. Chicken Pox 3:30
    4. Fuquawi 3:40
    5. Kinda Easy Like 8:43
    6. Hi Ride 2:36
    7. L.A. Jazz Song 4:18
    8. Sunny Monday 4:35

Released in 1971, Melting Pot was the final album by the finest soul instrumental combo of all time: the original Booker T. & the MGs. The disc, from which an edited version of the title track became a hit r&b single, is "one of the group's crowning achievements," in the words of Stax historian Rob Bowman. Indeed, it is the quartet's most jazz-oriented and boldly experimental work. Sadly, the four musicians would never play together again. Drummer Al Jackson, Jr. was murdered in 1975, though keyboardist Booker T. Jones, guitarist Steve Cropper, and bassist Donald "Duck" Dunn still get together on occasion to tour and record.

Melting Pot, Back Home, Chicken Pox, Fuquawi, Kinda Easy Like, Hi Ride, L.A. Jazz Song, Sunny Monday

with Steve Cropper, Donald "Duck" Dunn, Al Jackson, Jr.

Find out more about Booker T. & The M.G.'s


"We were having fun," Steve Cropper said after hearing the 25 long-forgotten tracks that are finally seeing the light of day with this… More


Concord Music Group will release Booker T. & the MGs' Green Onions as part of its Stax Remasters series. Enhanced by 24-bit… More
Released in January 1970, McLemore Avenue is a tribute to Abbey Road, the landmark recording released by the Beatles the prior summer. More
This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 20 greatest hits including “Green Onions,” “Time Is Tight,”… More
Although the Sixties were a time of upheaval and change, one thing that remained constant was the laid-back, tightly locking Memphis sound of… More
About Stax Stax Records is synonymous with Southern soul music. Originally known as Satellite when it was founded in 1957 by Jim Stewart… More
As the house rhythm section at Stax Records, Booker T. & the MGs all but single-handedly shaped the course of Southern soul music in the… More
Eight albums, excluding "best-of" collections, were issued during the nine too-brief years that keyboardist Booker T. Jones, guitarist… More
Johnny, I Love You; Cleveland Now, Children, Don't Get Weary; Tank's Lament, Blues in the Gutter, We've Got Johnny Wells, Down at Ralph's… More
Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy; La La Means I Love You, Hang 'Em High, Willow Weep for Me, Over Easy, Soul Limbo, Eleanor Rigby, Heads or… More
On 1969's The Booker T. Set, the famous Memphis group placed its distinctive stamp on 11 pop and r&b hits of the period, including… More
Medley (Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight/The End/Here Comes the Sun/Come Together), Something, Medley (Because/You Never Give Me… More