Message Of The Sea

David Russell

Message Of The Sea MP3
  • CAT # 80492-25

    1. The Bucks of Oranmore 2:32
    2. Spatter the Dew 3:07
    3. My Gentle Harp 3:31
    4. Garryowen 3:53
    5. My Lodging Is on the Cold Ground 2:29
    6. Miss Bailly 3:13
    7. Neil Gow's Lament for the Death of His Second Wife 2:38
    8. Fantasy on a Scottish Air 7:00
    9. Cherish the Ladies 2:11
    10. Morag 3:26
    11. The Pipe on the Hob 1:27
    12. Whiskey, You're the Devil 1:17
    13. Kildare Fancy 1:07
    14. Clyde Suite: Isle of Bute 1:05
    15. Clyde Suite: Isle of Cumbrae 1:07
    16. Clyde Suite: Isle of Arran 1:15
    17. Clyde Suite: Little Cumbrae
    18. The Bonnie, Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond 1:47
    19. Roslin Castle 3:51
    20. The Bride's Reel
    21. Miss Mary Walker of Peterhead
    22. The Rose Bud of Allenvale 1:51
    23. Farewell to Stromness 3:43
    24. The Deil Amang the Tailors 1:22
    25. The Fair Haired Boy -- Three Little Drummers 1:27
    26. Sanas Cuain (Message of the Sea) 3:22
    27. Strathspey Forever 1:32
    28. Loch Leven Castle
    29. Spey in Spate
    30. Skye Boat Song 3:39

Classical guitarist David Russell has won accolades for his technique and superb musicianship from critics and audience members alike. In 1997, he was named a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music in London, in recognition of his great talent. Born in Glasgow in 1953, he moved with his parents to the Spanish island of Menorca while still a young boy, where he began his training on the guitar. He has won virtually every major guitar competition and many composers have dedicated works to him. His previous recordings on Telarc have been music of the Hispanic composers Barrios, Torroba, and Rodrigo.

Most of the arrangements on this collection of Celtic music are by Russell himself, including "The Bucks of Oranmore," "Spatter the Dew," "Cherish the Ladies," "Morag," "Whiskey, You're the Devil," "The Bonnie, Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond," "The Bride's Reel," "Skye Boat Song" and many others.

The traditional dance forms represented on this album include the jig (a fast dance in 6/8 [single or double] or 9/8 [slip jig]), the reel (a fast dance in duple meter for couples), hornpipe (similar to a reel, but played more slowly) and strathspey (a dance in moderate quadruple meter with characteristic snappy rhythms, said to have originated in the valley, or "strath," of the River Spey in the Scottish highlands).

Also featured on the disc are recent works by Ron Moore and Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, as well as concert pieces based on Scottish themes by the nineteenth-century guitarist-composers Fernando Sor and Mauro Giuliani.

Find out more about David Russell


2012 release from the Grammy-winning Classical guitarist. In a return to baroque, the repertoire that David Russell is best known for, The… More
David Russell Records Music Of Isaac Albéniz For Telarc. More
David Russell discovers the soul of Spanish music on Sonidos Latinos. More
David Russell Records First Disc of Solo Contemporary Works For David includes compositions by Sergio Assad, Steve Goss, Francis… More
GRAMMY® Award-winning guitarist David Russell returns with Air on a G String, baroque masterpieces by Bach, Couperin, Saint-Luc, and Weiss… More
GRAMMY AWARD WINNER DAVID RUSSELL SHINES ON ART OF THE GUITAR GRAMMY Award winning guitarist David Russell is a world-class… More
GRAMMY-award winning classical guitarist David Russell takes listeners on a captivating journey back to the Renaissance period with Renaissance… More
Celebrating his tenth anniversary with Telarc, David Russell brings the mythology of Spain and its rich musical tradition to life in this tribute… More
Aire Latino, a collection of Latin American music for guitar performed by David Russell, brings together some of the most characteristic… More
Today, more than two and a half centuries after Bach’s passing, lute players are all but extinct—even in classical music circles. But… More
Renowned classical guitarist David Russell brings passion and style to an all-Spanish program for Telarc, which features some of the best-loved… More
Renowned classical guitarist David Russell makes his first all-baroque recording for Telarc, with his own completely new transcriptions and… More