Monk's Music

Thelonious Monk Septet

Monks Music LP OJC 084
  • CAT # OJC-084

    DISC ONE  
    1. Abide With Me
    2. Well, You Needn't 11:23
    3. Ruby, My Dear 5:25
    DISC ONE  
    1. Off Minor 5:10
    2. Epistrophy 10:47
    3. Crepuscule With Nellie 4:39

Monk's Music is often cited as one of the focal points of Thelonious Monk's six-year affiliation (1955-1961) with the Riverside label. Although the original disc clocked in at slightly over 30 minutes, packed into that half hour are not only the introduction of a few of Monk's signature compositions, but also some amazing interactions from the assembled ensemble. Joining Thelonious Monk (piano) during these two recording sessions are Ray Copeland (trumpet), Gigi Gryce (alto sax), Coleman Hawkins (tenor sax), John Coltrane (tenor sax), Wilbur Ware (bass), and Art Blakey (drums).

Find out more about Thelonious Monk Septet