Monteverdi Vespers Of 1610

Martin Pearlman & Boston Baroque

Monteverdi Vespers Of 1610
  • CAT # 80453-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Monteverdi: Vespers: I. Deus in adjutorium/Domine ad adjvandum 2:15
    2. Monteverdi: Vespers: Antiphon
    3. Monteverdi: Vespers: II. Psalm 109: Dixit Dominus 7:31
    4. Monteverdi: Vespers: III. Motet: Nigra sum 3:55
    5. Monteverdi: Vespers: Antiphon
    6. Monteverdi: Vespers: IV. Psalm 112: Laudate pueri 5:50
    7. Monteverdi: Vespers: V. Motet: Pulchra es 4:02
    8. Monteverdi: Vespers: Antiphon
    9. Monteverdi: Vespers: VI. Psalm 121: Laetatus sum 6:29
    10. Monteverdi: Vespers: VII. Motet: Duo Seraphim 7:00
    11. Monteverdi: Vespers: Antiphon
    12. Monteverdi: Vespers: VIII. Psalm 126: Nisi Dominus 4:26
    13. Monteverdi: Vespers: IX. Motet: Audi coelum 9:31
    14. Monteverdi: Vespers: Antiphon
    15. Monteverdi: Vespers: X. Psalm 147: Lauda Jerusalem 4:21
    DISC TWO  
    1. Monteverdi: Vespers: XI. Sonata sopra "Sancta Marie, ora pro nobis" 6:37
    2. Monteverdi: Vespers: XII. Hymn: Ave maris stella 8:14
    3. Monteverdi: Vespers: Antiphon
    4. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 1. Magnificat anima mea
    5. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 2. Et. Exultavit 1:24
    6. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 3. Quia respexit 1:52
    7. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 4. Quia fecit mihi magna 1:03
    8. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 5. Et misericordia 2:14
    9. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 6. Fecit potentiam
    10. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 7. Deposuit potentes de sede 2:36
    11. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 8. Esurientes implevit bonis 1:37
    12. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 9. Suscepit Israel 1:19
    13. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 10. Sicut locutus est
    14. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 11. Gloria Patri 3:17
    15. Monteverdi: Vespers: XIII. Magnificat: 12. Sicut erat in principio 1:57

On their seventh release for Telarc, Martin Pearlman and the Boston Baroque, period instruments orchestra and chorus, are heard in the opulent Vespro della Beata Vergine (Vespers of the Blessed Virgin) by Monteverdi. Included in the three-CD set is a thirty-minute discussion disc by Pearlman, in which he gives an overview of the historical background, the instrumentation, and the complexities of the scoring and musical styles in this great work, interspersed with musical examples taken from the recording. The ensemble's most recent release for Telarc was of Purcell's Dido and Aeneas. Upcoming plans include a recording of American Moravian music, to be released in 1998. Monteverdi's Vespers first appeared in print in 1610, part of a large collection of church music that was dedicated to Pope Paul V. At that time, Monteverdi was still employed at the court of Duke Vincenzo in Mantua. But in 1613, he became the maestro di cappella at the Basilica of St. Mark's in Venice, a position he retained for the rest of his life. There are many issues of orchestration and assignment of vocal parts that are left unspecified in the score, and must be decided by the conductor. The texts that Monteverdi set in the Vespers are all appropriate for feast days in the Catholic Church year dedicated to the Virgin Mary. Pearlman has chosen to perform the piece as if it were a complete liturgical service, and has therefore inserted Gregorian chants from the Feast of the Assumption (a major Marian feast day) before each of the psalms and the final Magnificat.

Find out more about Martin Pearlman & Boston Baroque


Boston Baroque’s 20th Telarc release gives modern audiences their first opportunity to hear music Mozart wrote for the castrato voice sung… More
Martin Pearlman and Boston Baroque Complete Handel's Opus 6 Concerti Grossi with Nos. 7 - 12 As the old saying goes, “good… More
Luigi Cherubini's Powerfully Expressive Requiem In C Minor is Centerpiece of New Recording by Martin Pearlman and Boston Baroque… More
Boston Baroque and Director Martin Pearlman bring us exuberant performances of two of the most popular Baroque choral works of all time… More
Continuing with their tradition of recording great works in a period fashion, Boston Baroque returns with special guest flutist Jacques Zoon, who… More
Boston Baroque, one of America's great orchestras, gives revelatory performances of the Bach orchestral suites on this new Telarc recording. More
A fresh take on two of Handel's classic works Water Music and Music for the Royal Fireworks, performed by Boston Baroque on period… More
Telarc presents three-time Grammy nominee Boston Baroque in a highly entertaining double bill. More
Telarc presents the first recording on period instruments of Gluck's dramatic masterpiece, Iphigenie en Tauride. The title role, made… More
The oldest continually-performing period instrument ensemble in North America culminated its 25th Anniversary season with this recording of the… More
Telarc presents the first and only available CD recording of American Moravian music—the first true early American classical music… More
Following its highly acclaimed Telarc release of Robert Levin's completion of the Mozart Requiem, the Boston Baroque orchestra and chamber chorus… More