Montreux '77

Roy Eldridge 4

Montreux 77 OJCCD 373 2
  • Release Date: 18 Jul 1989
  • Label: PABLO
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # OJCCD-373-2

    1. Between The Devil & The Deep Blue 20:57
    2. Gofor 6:33
    3. I Surrender Dear 5:25
    4. Joie De Roy 8:52
    5. Perdido (instrumental) 5:50
    6. Bye Bye Blackbird 7:24

Roy Eldridge brought to jazz unprecedented passion and intensity, and the highest expression of the combative spirit of the jam session. For Eldridge, every playing occasion was a challenge. Like a world-class athlete, he always came to win. There is no more dramatic example than this encounter with the Oscar Peterson Trio of Eldridge's ability, even in his final days of trumpet playing, to create almost unbearable creative tension. At 65, the roaring fires of his youth were undiminished and they ignited Peterson and bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, who nearly equaled Eldridge's heat.

with Oscar Peterson, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Bobby Durham

Find out more about Roy Eldridge 4