New Trombone

Curtis Fuller

New Trombone
  • CAT # OJCCD-077-25

    1. Vonce #5 7:40
    2. Transportation Blues 8:18
    3. Blue Lawson 6:51
    4. Namely You 6:48
    5. What Is This Thing Called Love 7:35
    6. Alicia 5:11

Not only did this recording serve to introduce Fuller to the public at large in 1957, it was also a graphic example of the wealth of talent coming from Detroit to New York during this period. The front line--Fuller and his running buddy, Sonny Red--is backed by bassist Doug Watkins, who had preceded them to the Big Apple by three years; and 20-year-old drummer Louis Hayes, who had departed the Motor City in the summer of 1956 to join Horace Silver's quintet. Adding the veteran seasoning and keyboard sagacity is Hank Jones, who had left the environs of Detroit a decade earlier to make his mark on the world jazz scene.

with Sonny Red, Hank Jones, Doug Watkins, Louis Hayes

Find out more about Curtis Fuller


Curtis Fuller was in the front ranks of the Detroit migration that invigorated the New York jazz scene in the late Fifties, so it was only logical… More