Burning Hell

John Lee Hooker

Burning Hell MP3
  • CAT # OBCCD-555-25

    1. Burnin' Hell 3:21
    2. Graveyard Blues 2:47
    3. Baby, Please Don't Go 4:51
    4. Jackson, Tennessee 3:19
    5. You Live Your Life And I'll Live Mine 3:20
    6. Smokestack Lightnin' 3:21
    7. How Can You Do It? 3:29
    8. I Don't Want No Woman If Her Hair Ain't No Longer Than Mine (Short Haired Woman) 3:52
    9. I Rolled And Turned And Cried The Whole Night Long 3:47
    10. Blues For My Baby 3:37
    11. Key To The Highway 3:15
    12. Natchez Fire (Burnin') 3:02

When Riverside Records recorded this John Lee Hooker session in 1959, producer Bill Grauer asked the Mississippi moaner to play acoustic guitar, much in the manner he had years earlier, before coming North, plugging in, and creating “boogie lightnin’.” The result, on which Hooker put his distinct stamp on tunes associated with Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf, Lightnin’ Hopkins, and Big Bill Broonzy, as well as a number of his own highly personal compositions, is a country blues classic. It was not, however, issued until 1964--in England only. A rare collector’s item, it now makes its long-overdue appearance.

Find out more about John Lee Hooker


In celebration of its 60th anniversary, Specialty Records presents this exciting new CD series of… More
Whether generating boogie lightnin' on electric guitar at Henry's Swing Club on Hastings Street in Detroit or creating back porch-style country… More
One needn’t rhyme to make meaninful poetry, a point John Lee Hooker proved time and time again throughout his prolific career. This compact… More
with Eddie Burns, Andrew Dunham Recorded between 1948 and 1950. More
John Lee Hooker (1917-2001) is the most down-home of the major post-war blues figures, “a most authentic singer of the way-back… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
Recorded November 2-3 and 8-10, 1962. More
with Sam Jones, Louis Hayes Recorded in 1960. More