Don't Go To Strangers

Etta Jones

Dont Go To Strangers LP OJC 298
  • CAT # OJC-298

    DISC ONE  
    1. Yes Sir, That's My Baby 4:21
    2. Don't Go To Strangers 3:52
    3. I Love Paris 4:01
    4. Fine And Mellow 5:54
    5. Where Or When 3:43
    DISC ONE  
    1. If I Had You 3:52
    2. On The Street Where You Live 3:45
    3. Something To Remember You By 3:47
    4. Bye Bye Blackbird 3:18
    5. All The Way 4:41

This was Etta Jones' first album for Prestige Records when it was originally released in 1960 (having been recorded in a single session on June 21 of that year), and although Jones had been releasing records since 1944, she was treated as an overnight sensation when the title tune from the album went gold, hitting the Top 40 on the pop charts and reaching number five on the R&B charts. The album was inducted in the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2008.

Find out more about Etta Jones


After paying dues for over 15 years, Etta Jones (1928-2001) became an overnight sensation with the release of this, her first Prestige album… More
The absolute assurance that marked Etta Jones's singing throughout her career has never been on better display than in this album, where she… More
Etta Jones, one of the jazz's reigning vocalists at the time of her death in October 2001, was well on her way during the productive period she… More
For the last decade or so of her life, Etta Jones (1928-2001) was able to finally sustain the deserved popularity she attracted briefly with her… More
Etta Jones's growing list of fans will find this 1962 orchestral encounter fascinating. The Billie Holiday influence that marked her earlier work… More
This was the followup album to the extremely successful Don't Go to Strangers LP whose title track took Etta to the pop record charts… More
South Carolina-born vocalist Etta Jones made her first record in 1944 at the age of 16 and continued to record prolifically for over a half… More